SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 41 of 41
  1. #26
    SitePoint Zealot spybreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's possible, you just have to write an upload server (running on port 8080 or something), and you submit your forms to http://127.0.0.1:8080 and parse the POST request yourself. Do you understand?
    Alternative would be having the developers simply implement that feature. Then there'd be no need to code a whole server. Now I wonder what'd be smarter, hmm.

  2. #27
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Who cares about smarter? God, it's what works, you said it yourself. Get the job done yourself. Think about it - it's not even PHP that handles that, it's the way the HTTP protocol works.
    http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc1867.html
    RFC 1867. The entire file is sent to the server BEFORE PHP is even invoked. Therefore, it can't be done with PHP, it's Apahce (hence why writing your own server that accepts it in increments so that you can count it properly). Apache isn't going to change the way they accept request just to make file uploads easier... It's got nothing to do with PHP, though.

  3. #28
    SitePoint Zealot spybreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Therefore, it can't be done with PHP
    Then why can it be done when David Enderson's patch is applied to PHP?

  4. #29
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would involve knowing which patch you're talking about.... why not install that? Problem solved. Hell, why not sign up for PHP developers CVS access and install that for PHP 4.3.9? Or would that take too much intelligence?

  5. #30
    SitePoint Zealot spybreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://david.enderson.net/downloads/..._status.tar.gz

    The PHP Developers refused implementing the patch. Hence the petition.

    why not install that? Problem solved.
    Can't do that on a shared host.

  6. #31
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, well, you're screwed. They won't listen to a petition (unless you get a ton of signatures, which I doubt you will, as nobody cares.. it doesn't effect enough people). Just write the server yourself, it'd tkae like 20 minutes.

  7. #32
    SitePoint Zealot IznSe7en's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Around
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hows about who the crap cares? Why would you need a progress bar. Just display a please wait message or some crap to make them sit their. Then they can deal with it. Yar! I'm a pirate.
    ><

  8. #33
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well said. Good job.

  9. #34
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Reykjavík, Iceland
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    This is turning too much into a fight now, let's play nice.


    Have you tried Java solutions yet? They take some time to load. How is it with Flash? They can tell how long it takes to load a Flash game/show. Maybe that could work, no that I know Flash. But I think I've seen this on Java.
    Friđrik Már Jónsson
    Student & Web Designer

  10. #35
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can upload a file using flash? Funky. I should learn it.

  11. #36
    SitePoint Zealot bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP Code:
    <meta http-equiv="Refresh" Content="1; URL='.$PHP_SELF.'?id='.$id.'&start_time='.$start_time.'"
    This patch you linked us to uses the same solution some of us have been mentioning already, refreshing the page and updating the output. Not really a solution as much as a work-around.
    If there is a way to overcome the suffering, there is no need to worry; if there is no way to overcome the suffering, there is no point to worry.
    - Shantideva

  12. #37
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds more like something that should be implemented by the browser itself (similar to a download status indicator). I can't see the benefit of having to do this on a per-site basis if it requires kludge like a repeated refresh to work, aside from maybe a certain coolness factor.
    webmaster at zeroweb dot org
    Free webmaster stuff | URL shortener | Free web graphics

  13. #38
    SitePoint Wizard stereofrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    4,324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    spybreak

    your appeal is understandable, although I would better talk on implementing file upload (or generally, request processing) hook, rather than on just "progress bar". There would be many other interesting applications of such hook, e.g. early cancelling of large uploads, or memory-based uploads etc.

    Yet another patch to this topic: http://pdoru.from.ro/

    Quote Originally Posted by someonewhois
    Think about it - it's not even PHP that handles that, it's the way the HTTP protocol works.
    http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc1867.html
    RFC 1867. The entire file is sent to the server BEFORE PHP is even invoked.
    This is incorrect. Please read rfcs/faqs/docs about http 1.1. and "chunked" transfer encoding.

  14. #39
    does not play well with others frezno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    1,391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by eZtro
    How is it with Flash? They can tell how long it takes to load a Flash game/show.
    Then you at least have a progressbar while loading the flash animated progressbar.
    Hey that's two progress bars for (more or less) one task! Who could ask for more... ?
    We are the Borg. Resistance is futile. Prepare to be assimilated.
    I'm Pentium of Borg.Division is futile.Prepare to be approximated.

  15. #40
    ********* Wizard silver trophy Cam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Burpengary, Australia
    Posts
    4,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Ummm, PEAR::HTML_ProgressBar

  16. #41
    SitePoint Addict Mower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Aussie Aussie Aussie
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds good, but I think it would be up to the browser to make the progress bar rather then php........


    "Will I ever find my way to GURU?"


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •