SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Now, How to get mysql 4.1 to work with PHP 5.0.0?

    Hello!

    I've just installed Apache 1.3, Mysql 4.1 and PHP 5 and I was wondering how to get Mysql to work? When I try to start phpMyAdmin I get:

    cannot load MySQL extension,
    please check PHP Configuration.

    I've tried to move around files and I've unqouted "extension=php_mysqli.dll" in my php.ini and nothing works. Whats the right way to get it to work?

    Thanks in advance!

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    when you unquote php_mysqli.dll you have to use the new mysqli extension, the old (mysql_connect(), etc.) is php_mysql.dll

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But I thouth I read that phpMyAdmin should work with mysqli!?

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  4. #4
    lean mean coding machine cosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    the cosmos
    Posts
    463
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The MySQL extension's supposed to be built into PHP I think. Nevertheless, you could simply uncomment the php_mysql.dll line.

    If Apache is unable to load the extension it will generate an error when its initializing.
    Luthfur R. - Web Developer
    PHP Lite.com - Professional PHP Scripts and Web Applications
    Calendar Express 2 - Web Based Calendar and Event Publishing System

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So I can't juse uncomment the php_mysqli.dll line? Because I did that, and apache first showed a error but then i moved the php_mysqli.dll file and then apache started without error. But when i try to go to phpMyAdmin i get that error message.

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  6. #6
    lean mean coding machine cosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    the cosmos
    Posts
    463
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are your other extensions working fine? Check to see whether the extension_dir path in php.ini has been set to the right directory.
    Luthfur R. - Web Developer
    PHP Lite.com - Professional PHP Scripts and Web Applications
    Calendar Express 2 - Web Based Calendar and Event Publishing System

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    extension=php_mysqli.dll is the only one I've got unquoted. Yes the extension_dir is set to c:\php and thats there I've putted php_mysqli.dll. I don't get this...

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not something I have to change in phpmyadmin's config files? Maybe I should just uninstall everything and redo it. =/

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  9. #9
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have the latest 2.6.0 version? They added support for mysqli in this version.

    In the newest version, in the config file, there will be this line:

    PHP Code:
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension']     = 'mysql';     // The php MySQL extension to use ('mysql' or 'mysqli') 
    Change that to mysqli and you should be good to go.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In what file? phpMyAdmins's config.inc.php? I can't find a $cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] in there. =/

    And I just downloaded the newest version from their homepage, atleast i think so.

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  11. #11
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lundberg
    In what file? phpMyAdmins's config.inc.php? I can't find a $cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] in there. =/

    And I just downloaded the newest version from their homepage, atleast i think so.
    It's in my config file. I have phpMyAdmin 2.6.0-beta2.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea I had an even newer version and in that config file there are no ['extension'] field. I'll get the older one and try! thanks!

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict lundberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Woho! Now It worked! Thank you very much BlueFire2k5!

    Martin Lundberg
    Sweden

  14. #14
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lundberg
    Woho! Now It worked! Thank you very much BlueFire2k5!
    No problem.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •