SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I have a free version of both RealPlayer and RealProducer - I've created a .rm file with the latter, and saved it. I've uploaded it in binary mode, and created a file called "audio.ram" which contains this info:

    pnm://www.domain.com/audio.ram

    I've linked to the audio.ram file from an audio.html file - I've uploaded all 3 to the server, loaded the page, and clicked on the link. RealPlayer tells me it cannot find the file linked to.

    In addition, if I try to open the .rm or .ram file from my hard drive in RealPlayer, it tells me it cannot open it and that it might be in use already.

    Does anyone have any idea what might be wrong with this? I don't have the slightest idea, and it's fairly urgent!

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you could try the path to the file, instead of a normal URL?

    Not sure..sorry

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't be - it wouldn't explain the problem in playing it off my hard drive, and right now the path is local: "audio.ram"

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict klisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    pnm://www.domain.com/audio.ram

    Maybe you should try

    pnm://www.domain.com/audio.rm


  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mistake on my part - I had that before, and I tried several odd variations - that is one of them. Still no luck I tried this all on another computer as well - same errors!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict klisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use ram files for music streaming on my site. It works well.
    Um, I will list how I do it.

    Create rm files from .wav files.
    Create ram files with path in it. (pnm://mydomain/..rm)
    Put links on my music section. Link to ram file of course.

    Working examples can be found at http://anime-anime.com/music/music5.php

    Oh, by the way, I am using paid version.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you ever done that with the non-paid version? Are you referring to the paid version of RealPlayer, RealProducer, or both? I'm using the two free versions, basically because I want to get this working. If it came to it, buying the program might be an option.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict klisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have both paid versions. (I am a big fan of real company) But I don't think having paid version of real player would help.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict klisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh by the way, you must create rm file from either music file or movie files.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used RealProducer to create a file by talking into the microphone I have next to me - the little bars went up, indicating that it was receiving sound, and it saved the file just fine.

    I'm really stumped. It happened on both computers, so I don't think it's a sound card problem. I'm incredibly frustrated with this, this is a related to a *very* big job I'm working on.

    A newsletter ad in DomainMailings (http://www.domainmailings.com, roughly 650 developers will see it) to anyone who can help me get this working!

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict klisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm, May I give you a suggestion?

    Maybe you should create the file first and convert it to rm files. (Real time recording is a bit tricky.)

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot SoldierMail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why not http://www.domain.com/audio.ram? Whats the address of the site so I can test it on my pc?

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, here's what I did:

    - I took a file called "20dollars.wav" - it's a simple file featuring Homer Simpson.

    - I converted it to a RealAudio file: "20dollars.rm" - conversion seemed to go smoothly.

    - I created a .ram file called "homer.ram", and placed this text inside of it: pnm://www.jerrybowyer.com/20dollars.rm

    - I created a .html file and created a link within pointing to "homer.ram" - it can be seen on the web here: http://www.jerrybowyer.com/file.html

    If some of you could indeed try it and let me know what happens, I would appreciate it. If someone can help me fix this within the next day or two, I'll up the offer to TWO of the aforementioned ads.

  14. #14
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    << If some of you could indeed try it and let me know what happens, I would appreciate it. If someone can help me fix this within the next day or two, I'll up the offer to TWO of the aforementioned ads.>>

    I tried it, and it worked perfectly.
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks everyone for your help - thankfully, I got it working myself. I do thank you all very sincerely, however, for trying it and such.

    Even now I'm not 100% sure as to what was wrong, but I do know that it works on several computers aside from my own, so the problem is only with mine. My computer has a lot of problems, so it's no big deal.

    Thanks!

  16. #16
    SitePoint Addict klisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, it worked.
    Gratz.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast Chris H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Peasant Town, East of Wales
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Chris, the free version of RealProducer works fine.

    I had a lot of problems getting my head round what was needed to stream Real Audio files from a normal http server.

    First produce your audio file, say "audio.rm". Upload this to your web space.

    Second create a text file called, say "audio.ram". This should contain the full http url to the "audio.rm" file. For example "http://www.myspace.com/audio/audio.ram". Upload this to your web space.

    Thirdly in an html document have the link "<a href="audio.ram">audio test</a>" (assume audio.ram is in the same directory as the html doc). Upload this.

    That should work, and give you single speed streaming audio, and .

    The url you gave, file.html, contained a link to homer.ram. This file contained the html link. Your browser will treat this as an html file, which it doesn't need to be. The file.html doc should contain the href link.

    HTH

    Chris

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, but I've been able to get it working - streaming and everything. I don't have an address starting with HTTP in the RAM file though.

    I appreciate everyone's time and help - thanks very much!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •