SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Iframe, Horizontal scroll bar, XHTML?

    Hi,

    I have been pulling my hair out on this one for quite some time....hope someone can help!,

    Ive produced my site in Dreamweaver using the XHTML coding, I looked up on the Macromedia site but all I can find Is a solution to get rid of horizontal scrol l bars in Iframes in HTML, Ive tried the same approach in XHTML but it doesnt seem to work....does anyone have any answers?,

    Thanks<

    Paul

  2. #2
    shauno7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it really depends how long a character line is that you have in your frame. then make sure you make the width long enough to there is no need for a horizontal scroll bar. and you could make the iframe border set to ='0' to make it neater.
    let me know if it works...shaun

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shauno7
    it really depends how long a character line is that you have in your frame. then make sure you make the width long enough to there is no need for a horizontal scroll bar. and you could make the iframe border set to ='0' to make it neater.
    let me know if it works...shaun
    Hi Shaun

    Thanks for the reply!....Im not to sure what you mean!....here is a link to my site, could you have a quick look at the code for me please.

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/p.midnight/main_page.htm

    Thanks,

    Paul

  4. #4
    shauno7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paulallender
    Hi Shaun

    Thanks for the reply!....Im not to sure what you mean!....here is a link to my site, could you have a quick look at the code for me please.

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/p.midnight/main_page.htm

    Thanks,

    Paul
    ok paul, not to worry, i have fixed it, you have to add a command scrolling=yes to you iframe, for example:
    --------------------------------------------
    <IFRAME name=content src="Cradle of Filth Offical website_files/welcome.htm" frameBorder=0 width=716 height=549 scrolling=yes></IFRAME>
    --------------------------------------------
    this should work, i tested it with your website, let me know the outcome...shaun

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot gohankid77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If am reading it correctly, Paul says he wants to get rid of them.

    Paul, try adding this within the head:

    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    iframe {overflow-x: visible;}
    -->
    </style>
    Gohan (Mmm... Yummy!)

  6. #6
    shauno7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes....scrolling=yes, gets rid of the horizontal scrollbars, trust me, ive tried it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot gohankid77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How does that work shauno7? There is no way to target a specific set of scrollbars without CSS or a scripting language is there? So won't your suggestion make it have both sets of scrollbars (horizontal and vertical)? This'll be interesting.
    Gohan (Mmm... Yummy!)

  8. #8
    shauno7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no, you just have the scrolling command inside the iframe tag like,

    <IFRAME name=content src="blah.php" frameBorder=0 width=716 height=549 scrolling=yes></IFRAME>

    what it actually does is that if you page inside the frame which is longer than you set height in the iframe, they will just put a vertical scrollbar. and in paul's case he does have a page longer than his set height therefore only the vertical scrolls appears and the horizontal scrolls disappear.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot gohankid77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah. Now I understand. Domo arigatou, shauno-san.
    Gohan (Mmm... Yummy!)

  10. #10
    shauno7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no-problemo

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Mile High
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just ran into a similar issue. Obviously, it's preferred to have scrolling=auto set instead of scrolling=yes... It's interesting to note that using the "auto" value DOES correctly work in Mozilla based browsers...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •