SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    London | UK
    Posts
    1,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Is it possible to launch an application from a php page without bringing up a windows conformation "save as/launch" dialogue?

    I will be using it on a company intranet so there are no issues with security.

    TIA

  2. #2
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd have thought so - either use the exec() function if the command you want to invoke can be run at the comand line or (more likely) use PHP4's COM functions:

    http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.exec.php <-- exec()
    http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.com.php <-- COM support

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    welll, i just had a comment

    as for the save as / launch dialog ... that sounds like you are trying to do something more client side.. where php is a server side language.. you mean you want it so if somebody clicks on an link to an exe file, it directly launches the exe instead of asking if you want to launch/save ?
    cogito, ergo sum

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do believe that this is what he wants, so PHP can't do anything about it.

    To be honest I don't think there is any way to do this because it is a security risk.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    London | UK
    Posts
    1,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, from the mixed responses, I realise that I wasn't specific enough.

    I need to lauch an application which has the executable on the client side machine. Obviously, I wasn't thinking, as ph is server side. *doh*

    Can someone move this to the relevent forum?

    I guess that the way to do this (if it is poss) is with javascript?

    Matt

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its really for the greater cause of security why this happens. If someone can automatically run a file on your computer from a web page, what to keep them from running the format comman? This is why its seems to be an unachievable thing do to.
    John Reyes
    HostRocket.com Support


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •