SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am making a web site using MS Publisher 98.
    It looks great, but I want to know how to make the site automatically center itself
    in different browsers and moniters. I am just aligning things to the left at this point,
    so that older browsers won't have to scroll sideways.
    Since I use Publisher, I have no useful knowledge of html...
    Any advice?
    Thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    [size=4]

Let me blunt and possibly a little rude and suggest that your software choice is not the best. I am not exactly sure how you would do it with Publisher, but I can walk you through it with HTML.

Open Notepad. Click File | Open. Change the bottom drop-down menu to All Files instead of text. Find and open your existing HTML document that you created with Publisher. It should end with a .html or .htm

Immediatley after and before your Body tags place Div tags to align center.
    Code:
    <body>
    <div align="center">
    </div>
    </body>
    </html>

[/size=4]
    Last edited by westmich; Mar 4, 2001 at 23:25.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could have been much ruder! I know I need to get better program eventually, also
    a better computer.
    I have tried to follow your directions, but the html file is too big for Note pad, so it opened
    in Word pad. But it was just squares and jibberish......
    Then I tried inserting an html fragment beside the logo at the top, and it behaves the same
    as anything I could put there, it just makes room for it...

Maybe someone would look at the site and tell me if it even needs centering?
    I can center it on Publisher so it is centered on my browser, but I have left it aligned left for
    older smaller browsers and moniters....