SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Un-able to create new database with mysql 4

    Hi i've just set up mysql server and client into my system and find that i cannot create new databases...however i can delete it...which is weird.

    could someone please give me some help ?

    the error is: ERROR 1044: Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'jokes'

    thanks heaps

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same kind of problem that I'm having - see the post below yours titled 'Xoops system no longer connecting to MySQL'. I wish someone could tell me why!!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think your problem might be that you dont have the program running in the back ground, you have to have the winMySQLadmin running in the back in order to run mysql.exe...

    where as for i can run everything but cannot create new databases...

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do. Don't know about the other fella.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you know what ? i think i am gonna un-install version 4 and try to install a stable ver 3 or something to see if it work...getting a bit frustrated...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not so easy for me because got loads of data in database and Xoops system was all installed. If I just re-install I'll lose it all! But in your case, yes, you could try that. I think you'd be better running winmysqladmin, and when it first opens it will ask you for a username and password.

    Fill that out and you should have privalges. That's what I did last time I had trouble, but now I'm locked out again! Dam


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •