SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How do you make a web page show up EXACTLY THE same on ALL browsers-OLD versions?

http://home.earthlink.net/~nomorabito/index.html

Thanks so much for all the help I get in these forums--so far
    I have been able to center my site, and have it show up the same on IE (5.2), and Netscape (7.1) on the Mac-- and IE (5.5) and Netscape (7.1) on the PC side (I use Virtual PC)--and Safari, (1.0) on the Mac-

BUT--
    Using an older Mac Power PC, OS 8.5, Netscape 4.7, it looks HORRIBLE!!

Please tell me how I can change my existing code (as I've said, I'm new at this, and am only making this site to help share my tabs, and help people,and this has been more than a labor of love!!), so that Iit looks the same on the older browser also--

and please give me SPECIFIC EXAMPLES of what to change. .I need all the help I can get!!
    This is so very much appreciated, and I thank you all for ALL YOUR HELP!
    Thanks-Bob Morabito

gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no offense, but...this made me smile.
    my advice would be to give up the idea of having anything display exactly the same in every single browser. unless you make your entire page a single graphic, or use flash, there's always going to be situations in which a particular browser will display things slightly differently. the web is not print.
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...22&btnG=Search
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)