SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been working on a new for my soccer website, www.westminstersoccer.org without using frames.
    I've created a new table layout to mimic the current page.
    Now I want to just load the main area on the right hand side with new content as the visitor chooses off the menu on the left. Unfortunately, being a hack at this, I haven't figured out how to do it or even what type of language might allow me to do it.
    Any helpful suggestions or pointers on performing this type of refresh would be greatly appreciated. Even a good tutorial would be appreciated.
    Thank you in advance for your assistance.

  2. #2
    Not Bad, eh? Justin Sampson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    N.S., Canada
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could use layers but then you have compatibility issues If you have dreamwaver it's easy to do, if you want I'll expand on it?

  3. #3
    Say WHA?! goober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My suggestion would be to simply save your table layout as a 'master.template' file (doesn't matter what you call it), then use this layout for all new pages. Then, simply change the content area in each page. It's much faster / simpler to do it this way, not to mention compatible with just about every browser.

    After that, you could put your menus in include files so they are easier to update.

    Have questions still? Just post back here.

    Hope this helps!
    Sean Killeen [LinkedIn] [Twitter] [Web]

    Warning: Reality.sys corrupted. Universe halted. Reboot? (Y/N)

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Goober,
    you say save the file as a master template file, I presume you mean a backgound image is that correct. It's changing the content that I'm having trouble figuring out. Is this correct?
    Sorry, if I'm being ignorant about this.

  5. #5
    Say WHA?! goober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by oradba
    Goober,
    you say save the file as a master template file, I presume you mean a backgound image is that correct. It's changing the content that I'm having trouble figuring out. Is this correct?
    Sorry, if I'm being ignorant about this.
    The master.template file stores your table layout. Then, you copy that layout into a new file and add all your new content.

    Dunno where you got the whole 'background image' thing from. It's okay, though.
    Sean Killeen [LinkedIn] [Twitter] [Web]

    Warning: Reality.sys corrupted. Universe halted. Reboot? (Y/N)

  6. #6
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have Dreamweaver check out the Templates section in the Help file!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    London | UK
    Posts
    1,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    iframes..

    You could use iframes inside the table cells.

    Just put this anywhere in an HTML file...

    <object type="text/x-scriptlet" width="50" height="50" data=mypage.html"></object>

    Where 'mypage.html' is the name of the page you want to display.

    Obviously, width is the value in pixels (or percentage if you put % on end) and the same goes for height. Data is the address of the page you want to be there.

    You can also take out the Type bit so that it reads...

    <object width="50" height="50" data="mypage.html"></object>

    Then you will get the same mini window, but right click will be enabled and scrollbars are visible. Use whichever you prefer.

    HTH

  8. #8
    Say WHA?! goober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mincer,

    Is this cross-browser compatible? <IFRAME>'s were already discussed, but decided against because they did not work on both NetScape and I.E.

    Please enlighten us.
    Sean Killeen [LinkedIn] [Twitter] [Web]

    Warning: Reality.sys corrupted. Universe halted. Reboot? (Y/N)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •