SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

calculated value in a query

I'm not sure if this is possible but I think it should be. I'm new at coding so please be kind.

I'l start with what I want to acomplish and tell you what I have done. If you feel I'm going about it the wrong way please let me know.

I want to print a report (MS Access) using the data that is already displayed in a List Box. The list box is populated by a fuction that I wrote and the data is a mix of data taken from another list box and values that I compute on the fly. The number of entries in the list box varies.

The idea of the program is to compute interest due on a loan. The interest is compounded daily and the interest rate changes every quarter. I accomplished the omputation by creating a table that has starting, ending dates and interest rates. The first list box is filed by a query that list the aplicable rate for the aplicable period. The second list box selects each entry on the 1st list box and computes the interest due. Every time the interest is computed it is added to the next computation (row -1). Teh function that populates list box 2 uses an array to keep track of the interest computed and I look into the array to add the interest to the computation.

For exmple:

the interest rate from 01/01/2004 to 03/31/2004 is .04
    the principle is $200.00 and the number of days the balance is due is 67.
    let's say that interest due is 2.21
    then for the next preiod from 04/01/2004 to 06/30/2004 the interest
    rate is .05
    the next computation the principle is 202.21 and so on.

the interest of 2.21 is stored in the array at position 0,0. The next computation is made by looking up at position 0,0 and the results are stored at position 0,1. The array is 7,256 because I have other data stored there but the data is redondant as it is just a repeat of the data in list box 1.