User Tag List

Thread: Beginning PHP

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi...
    After reading some stuff by kevin yank I've decided to learn mysql/php. Not because I want to make some business or anything, but just because I'm a bored kid. Anyhow, at the time of reading the article by mr. yank I didn't have a database set up with my host (f2s.com), so I couldn't test anything I was reading. Which is really beside the point, because the entire article went over my head. But it sounded very good. Can someone point me in the right direction to start working with php? aside from this article, which apparently went way past me, i'm a complete beginner here to server side stuff. Although I do know some c++ & have worked a ton with javascript, so I'm not a complete ******. I tried installing mySQL & PHP on my computer but I failed miserably at that, and I've totally deleted the programs. Maybe with a second, more informed, not so half-assed attempt at this I can actually get to start working with php?
    thanks in advance,
    sod

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

I'm pretty much at the same level as you,
    so I've decided to practice like hell on the Mysql command line stuff until I feel confident with it.
    It seems to be the right way for me to go coz I'm begining to understand some of the things in php/mysql code when I see it.
    just a thought, it might help you

BTW there's a complete php, mysql, perl, apache package available for download at http://www.nusphere.com/download/download_now.htm
    not sure what it's like but I've heard good things, very easy to install etc.
    May be worth trying
    DCE
    If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked
    something.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A good place to start is www.php.net (omg! :o)