SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

MySQL Usernames/Passwords Basics

I'm a relative newbie. I can make MySQL databases and tables and display dynamic tables on webpages. I'm about ready to publish my first database online. But I need to go back and get squared away on usernames and passwords.

First, I'm going to run into a problem if my local username/password is star/stardust, but I want to use this database on sites with two different webhosts, which gave me the username riskybiz and laidoff, respectively.

So could I replace the username and password with echo functions? For example, one of my webpages begins with the following code:

<?php
    @mysql_connect ("localhost" , "testuser" ,
    "TestUser");
    @mysql_select_db ("world");

Could I replace that with this?:

<?php
    $username = 'webhost_testuser';
    $password = 'webhost_pass';
    $database = 'world';
    @mysql_connect ("localhost" , "' . $username . '" , "'
    . $password . '");
    @mysql_select_db ("database");

But, going back to square one, I need to get a grip on the basics first. Let me
    break this down into three sections:

1. What system do I have in operation now?
    2. What system SHOULD I have?
    3. How do I get there?

I put some screen shots from a program called Navicat
    online at http://www.geoworld.org/userpass.gif

In picture #1, you see my eight databases listed on
    the left. The tables inside database "world" are
    listed on the right.

When I click "Manage Users," I see the following:

%localhost
    geoblue_savior@%
    root@%
    root@localhost
    testuser@localhost

I created geoblue_savior@% and testuser@localhost; one or more of the others are default usernames.

Picture 5 illustrates that all eight databases appear inside each user's folder. So users can be thought of as people, and each of these people (in this particular case) has access to each database, right?