SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: My SQL Question

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    My SQL Newbie Question

    Hi
    Can you tell me which copy of My SQL I should download. I'm on a Freedom 2 Surf unix server I think, if that helps.

    Thanks

    Nick
    Last edited by ebuydrum; Feb 22, 2001 at 10:27.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you definitely have permission to install new software on the web server? The vast majority of web server providers won't let you install anything - you need a dedicated server if you want to install stuff like mySQL.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I thought you needed a copy of my sql on your desktop computer as well? If not then where do you make your database? Sorry I must sound really stupid

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can anyone help?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can create your database on the server without having anything installed on your PC. The easiest way to do this is to use phpMyAdmin - a PHP script you can install on your web server and use to edit your database:

    www.phpwizard.net/

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been following the sitepoint tutorial to My SQL/php so I was hoping to use the dos my sql program rather than php admin. Any suggestions

  7. #7
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    YOu probably want to telnet into the server and then use mysql form the command line there.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how do I do that?

  9. #9
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check with your host to see if they have ssh or telnet (ssh preferrably) and then you need to telnet into the server either through regular telnet or through ssh with a ssh client I suggest the one found at SecureCRT then once you get in you should be able to type mysql -h localhost -u username -p

    Then type the password.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry for my stupidity but in the tutorial if I understand correctly kevin opens up my sql and that connects to the server. Then he just uses My SQL normally select, insert, update etc.

  11. #11
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes he does, but chances are he has access to the server running MySQL and since you use a shared server chances are they only let you connect to MySQL locally on the server, that is why I say telnet into the server and then do what Kevin did, connect to the MySQL server from the command line.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have access to db.whatprinter.f2s.com does that sound like a shared server or not?

  13. #13
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What you need to find out is if you have telnet access or ssh access to your server? Figure that out first then ask how to get into MySQL from the commandline.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My host gives me this info:
    db username
    db name
    db server
    db port

    It also has a phpadmin section.

    Is this ssh or telnet?

  15. #15
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What do you mean they give you this info, did you read that somewhere? Sounds like they have PHPMyAdmin builtin, if you still want to use mysql form the command line then you will need to again telnet or ssh in to the server, try doing a search on the internet for telnet tutorials, telnet or ssh is a protocol use for remotely administering a server, chances are if they are a reputable host they will have that protocol set to run on their servers, you just need to figure out how to get onto the server, so did you get a definitive answer as to whether or not your host provides this service?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I mean that my host has given me a db username db name db server and db port and it also has phpadmin. Can you roughly sum up what telnet and what ssh is please.

  17. #17
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Again - telnet is a protocol for talking to a server ssh is its encrypted and preferred counterpart. So chances are they have phpmyadmin (a set of php scripts used to administer a MySQL database) setup for you to administer your databases, alternaltey you can telnet or ssh in top your server and connect to mysql form the commandline. It seems maybe like you need to take a step back organize your thoughts, study about telnet and ssh then study about MySQL then try again.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which do you use freddy, phpadmin, ssh or telnet? Also if global access was enabled would that mean I could use ssh or telnet?

  19. #19
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use ssh and run mysql from the command line. But I have ssh access to my server. Use phpadmin is the easiest way to get familiar with MySQL but you should really be able to administer it from the command line.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  20. #20
    ********* Callithumpian silver trophy freakysid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    3,798
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have a free hosting account with f2s; ie

    www.yourname.f2s.com

    you can set up one mySQL database under your account. The database name will be your user name. If you haven't already set up your database, log in to your member area and request it. Give them 24 hours to set it up. In your membership area you will also see instructions on how to access your database using phpMyAdmin. You will not be able to telnet or ssh into your account -f2s dosn't offer it.

  21. #21
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks freakysid that was the answer I was looking for a few posts ago. So ebuydrum you are left with the only option as it may seem, use PhpMyAdmin or build your own database admin script in PHP
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •