SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Browser simulator?

    For testing CSS, is there an application that will simulate a wide variety of browsers? I have the User Agent Switcher in Firefox, but it doesn't appear to change the rendering of pages. I understand that installing multiple versions of, say, Internet Explorer for this purpose can create problems.

  2. #2
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,623
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well by default you can install as many versions as you wish-just make sure that you don't override the default profile, but rather save it somewhere else.

    You can use a virtualOS to get multiple versions of IE, or use something like multipleIE's
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  3. #3
    Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    8,111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You would either want to use a virtual machine (which would allow you to simulate multiple versions of an OS allowing rendering to occur for each independant version of IE) or you would want to go with something like IETester which granted does have flaws but it is better than nothing (if you don't want to configure Virtual PC).

    http://www.my-debugbar.com/wiki/IETester/HomePage

  4. #4
    Mazel tov! bronze trophy kohoutek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4,248
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can try out Xenocode's Browser Sandbox. You can run that application online. http://www.xenocode.com/browsers/
    Maleika E. A. | Rockatee | Twitter | Dribbble



  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I can't post urls yet (forum bs), but try this:

    httpsCOLONSLASHSLASHbrowserlab.adobe.com/index.html#

    It's the best!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot candlebain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not that I'm an expert by any means, but my Mac has VMWare Fusion set up to run XP with IE6. That at least gives me the most problematic browser I worry about supporting. I'm told I can install multiple versions of XP if I really wanted to...haven't opted in so far...

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot candlebain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Browser lab is nice! But it's only screen shots, right? So not good for debugging JS or any behaviors...

  8. #8
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,623
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by candlebain View Post
    Browser lab is nice! But it's only screen shots, right? So not good for debugging JS or any behaviors...
    Yes
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •