SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist N9ne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is the <acronym> tag supported by all (or most) browsers?

    are there any known problems with this tag?

  2. #2
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I'm pretty darn sure it is supported by all of the newer browsers (version 5+). I'm not too sure if the 4.0 and older browsers support it, though. Anyone care to test that?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IE doesn't use or display it. But Mozilla and Opera do. Won't break your page though so probably worth while for future prooffing.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard megamanXplosion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    1,099
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rincewind
    IE doesn't use or display it. But Mozilla and Opera do. Won't break your page though so probably worth while for future prooffing.
    Internet Explorer does use the acronym tag, although it doesn't have a default display mode for the tag like Opera and Mozilla. To mimic the display of other browsers, just put this in your stylesheet...

    Code:
    acronym {
      border-bottom: 1px Dotted #000;
    }

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by megamanXplosion
    Code:
    acronym {
       border-bottom: 1px Dotted #000;
     }
    But IE can't do dotted borders, so it will display a dashed border.

    If you want to get dotted borders you need to create a 2x2 pixel image, color the bottom left pixel the color you want the border to be. then do:
    Code:
     acronym {
     	background: url("dottedborder.gif") repeat-x bottom;
     }

  6. #6
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Imminent
    But IE can't do dotted borders, so it will display a dashed border.

    If you want to get dotted borders you need to create a 2x2 pixel image, color the bottom left pixel the color you want the border to be. then do:
    Code:
     acronym {
     	background: url("dottedborder.gif") repeat-x bottom;
     }
    You are only partially right. IE can't do 1 pixel dotted borders. Set it to a different value, like 3px, and the dots show up, not dashes.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    You are only partially right. IE can't do 1 pixel dotted borders. Set it to a different value, like 3px, and the dots show up, not dashes.
    Ok, Thanks.

    I don't think i've ever tried a border thicker than 1 pixel.

  8. #8
    Starting to-digg-in ********* jamesxv7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Island of Puerto Rico @ the Caribbean
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Imminent
    Ok, Thanks.

    I don't think i've ever tried a border thicker than 1 pixel.
    Oh God! Why?
    James: Ecodig - My Blog - My Gallery
    Validate your sites: CSS - HTML/XHTML
    Without faith you are lost.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •