User Tag List

SitePoint Member slicemaster101's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Storing Database connection information in a dedicated config file

Well,

I am quit new to PHP and I am really getting to like it. I have been messing around with PHP and MySQL now for a few months and I have been leaning some practical design concepts. Anyways one practical design concept that I would really like to learn is how to utilize and store common configuration information such as Database names, logins, and passwords in a dedicated PHP file to be used by a host of others. This is so if I ever had to change the username and password for accessing a given database, I would only have to change it in one file rather then all of the files that make use of that data. This type of configuration file is used in many common PHP scripts like phpMyAdmin and PHPBB2. How do the do it?

Thanks,
    Slice

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    most of the scripts and tutorials I've seen, simply use the include() function. they create a small file, usually named db.inc, that contains all the pertinent information for a given database and table. then they just
    Code:
    include ('db.inc');
    in the appropriate files.

I presume this is what you meant.

Lite...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by litebearer2
    most of the scripts and tutorials I've seen, simply use the include() function. they create a small file, usually named db.inc, that contains all the pertinent information for a given database and table. then they just
    Code:
    include ('db.inc');
    in the appropriate files.

I presume this is what you meant.

Lite...
    Could you recommend a tutorial on how to do this, and possibly a practical example?

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok example...

the db.inc file
    Code:
    <?PHP
    // db.inc