SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

To Template or Not to Template, That is The Question!

I've been reading about templates and how wonderful they are. Most examples offered to demonstrate their value depicts a situation where the html is done by one person and the php by another. I'm sure for that situation templates are of value but I do it all myself and from my view templates are just one more thing to learn and to have in the way. On the other hand I'm just learning php and might be to new to be able to appreciate the true value of templates. What is your feeling on this subject? Will PHP 5.0 be forcing templates on us or is that not an issue in this topic?

Thanks for sharing your views with a newbie.

RogerR

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My answer is that any serious PHP web application should keep PHP entirely seperate from HTML. There are some that argue that PHP itself is the best templating solution, and whilst in theory that may very well be correct, I feel that from a coders and designers point of view it simply makes more sense to use a templating system that involves a third party syntax. I use a very simple engine I devised myself, though not unlike a ton of them that exist out there.
    As you are a PHP newbie I will say that it may be best to walk before you can run and go with your natural instincts to mix PHP and HTML together so as you can understand the problem with doing this and then appreciate the solution of seperating them.
    I do believe that PHP5 has the smarty templating system bundled with it, though this does not mean in any way that it requires you to use that system or any.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)