SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    dublin
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CSV Import Problem

    Hi

    We've got an access (2002) datadase that links to a facility on our website. The database is 8mb.

    I update the tables from CSV files extracted from our work database.These tables are quite large, 9000 records with 26-33 fields. I had a lot of problems getting them in to the access tables as they would not import (I guess because of their size), I went through all the steps to getting external data and nothing would happen, the access table wouldn't update in any way. This meant that I had to save each CSV file to excel and cut and past 5000 records at a time. The problem not is that although the update added only another 100 records the database has jumped to 34mb! This is the first time I have done this.

    Does anyone know why this has happened and what I can do about it, there aren't any empty record cells or fields and the information is not a significant size?

    I don't know anything about VB.

    Update: I've just realised that the records that are not importing have inverted comma's " used somewhere in the record - is there anyway to allow these to be recognised and therefore imported?

    Thanks for any help
    Last edited by tinggg; May 16, 2004 at 01:56.

  2. #2
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suspect that you've got the "text delimiter" option in the text import wizard set to the wrong value. Check it!
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    dublin
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    csv problem

    I can't see a specific 'text delimiter' filed in the wizard box. CAn you tell me where I can expect to see it and suggest what I should change it to?

    Many thanks.

  4. #4
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Click "advanced" on the dialog where you choose between delimited or fixed-width. The option you need is the "Text Qualifier" field, but I can't tell you what you need there unless you post some sample data!
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    dublin
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your a star!

    I set the 'test delimiter' box to " (it was previously set to text) and it allowed me to import the records into a linked table and I cut and pasted them in to the correct table and all of them pasted, before the ones with inverted commas went into a paste error file.

    Sure there must be an easier way of doing this but at least it worked.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •