Thread: generating XML

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

generating XML

Hi,
    i am new to javascript programing i am forced to seek help.
    in my main page say 'home', i have two images and a submit button. as soon as the first image is clicked, a new page, page1, opens in which a <select> tag with relevant options is available. the relevant code

Code:
    <form name="form1">
    <select name="sel" onchange="loadFile();">
    <option> Choose the map u prefer
    <option value="C:\My Documents\usa.jpg">US
    <option value="C:\My Documents\uk.jpg">UK
    <option value="C:\My Documents\spain.jpg">Spain
    <option value="C:\My Documents\greece.jpg">Greece
    </select>
    </form>
    now as soon as the user chooses one of the select options, that image is displayed on the page using the code:

Code:
    function loadfile() {
    var fileName = document.form1.sel.value;
    if (fileName != "") {
    location.href = fileName;
    }

after the image is displayed, the user clicks on a 'back' button that takes him back to 'home' page. here he clicks on the second image and the same procedure as above is repeated but with text files displayed on a new page, 'page2'. the user clicks on a 'back' button and returns to the 'home' page.
    when he clicks on the 'submit' button on the 'home' page, a XML file that contains the two files he has chosen earlier is to be generated ie it is of the form:

Code:
    <choice>
    <pic>C:\My Documents\usa.jpg</pic>
    <tex>C:\abc.txt</tex>
    </choice>

this XML file is a dynamic one and the value of the <pic> and <tex> tags changes depending on the choice made by the user. this XML is to be generated only when the 'submit' button in the 'home' page is clicked
    for ur reference i am giving the code i have used to generate the XML as described above but on a single form:

var sel_1 = document.form1.sel;
    var txt_1 = sel_1.options[sel_1.selectedIndex].text;