SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In an attempt to have some options for ColdFusion hosting, I am studying MySQL and PHP4. While my final host is UNIX, my development environment is Windows.

I am currently working my way through the book "MySQL/PHP Database Applications" by Jay Greenspan. I thought it would be helpful to have others to study along with and discuss topics. I have other PHP4 books, but this one had several applications that I was interested in. If you are interested - please let me know.

I am currently struggling with what I think are colliding variables from Cookies and Forms in the Survey application. I like many things about PHP4, but I sure miss ColdFusion's cookie.variable, form.variable, url.variable separation.

Thanks - Dave

chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have just "discovered" sessions and they are truly better than cookies. Son pointed me in the direction of http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.session.php

Everyone in the PHP/MySQL forum is willing to help, so post any questions you have

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, here is an attempt. The situation is - there is an authentication script "win_authenticate.php" in the Survey Application of the book "MySQL/ PHP Database Applications" that intentionally uses Session variables and Form variables with the same name.
    -----------
    session_register("PHP_AUTH_USER");
    session_register("PHP_AUTH_PW");
    session_register("valid_user");
    -----------
    and then in the form later in the script:
    <form method=post>
    Username: <input type=text name="PHP_AUTH_USER" value="$PHP_AUTH_USER">
    <br>
    Password: <input type=text name="PHP_AUTH_PW" value="$PHP_AUTH_PW">
    <br>
    <input type=submit>
    </form>
    ---------------