SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: sql*plus

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict Raioo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    212
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    sql*plus

    Need to test some queries on a remote oracle database. I heard of SQL*Plus.. can someone please give me pointers where do I download this from and installation steps etc. ?

    Thank you!
    I appreciate the help of everyone at SitePoint.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as far as I know, you need to have an Oracle client to query an Oracle server, be it local or remote. And SQL*Plus is a part of Oracle installation itself. You can't download it from anywhere.

    So in short, you need to have Oracle Client installed if you want to query a remote Oracle Server. I dunno if Oracle provides a free client tool like Microsoft does for SQL Server by providing MSDE.
    Better search around at Oracle's website www.oracle.com. Also, if you don't get it, then why not try doing it from a web-based interface? You can search for scripts that provide you phpMyAdmin type thing for Oracle & if you don't find it, you can make your own easily if you just want to run a few select,insert,update,drop queries.
    There's a FREE PHP class available that lets you query an Oracle database easily. Its available at http://www.jvmultimedia.com/home/art...hp?articleId=2. But its only helpful if you know PHP.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  3. #3
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,276
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    ----> toad
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But its for MySQL & SQL Server, isn't it?
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  5. #5
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,276
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    it works for oracle -- in fact, that's all it worked for when it first came out, if i recall correctly (haven't used it in a few years)
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah yes, now I recall, I remember seeing its ads too often in the Oracle Magzine.

    By the way Rudy, can you help with a trivial problem at http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?t=167303
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Raioo
    Need to test some queries on a remote oracle database. I heard of SQL*Plus.. can someone please give me pointers where do I download this from and installation steps etc. ?

    Thank you!
    i log on to an oracle box remotely and just execute sqlplus from the command line

    just have the admin grand you sqplus privilege on your account
    and type
    sqlplus at the prompt
    then username and password

    just use the spool command if you need to save any output

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by r937
    ----> toad
    I use PL/SQL Developer myself, and it is an awesome product!

    Cheers,
    Keith.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •