SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Frames

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, My site is http://web.infoave.net/~alfg and my web cam is at http://ryanglenn.camarades.com (the cam will be where the square is) well i want to get that part (and just that part(the cam) on my page in a frame. can somebody help


    thanks

    ryan

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only way I can think of to embed a frame within a standard page is to use iframe.

    Here's an example:
    <iframe src="webcam.html" scrolling="no" frameborder="0"></iframe>

    The down side is it only works in IE 5+ (possibly 4+) and NS 6+.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    does anybody else have any ideas

  4. #4
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there any reason why you sepcifically want/need a frame?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To put the web cam on my site

  6. #6
    ComDude CryingWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    I don't know the cat drug it in!!!
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    iframe would be the easiest way else you could just use normal frames but the size might mess with the rest of the site depending on how big you wanted the frame window.

    If you don't want to place the webcam window on a normal page, then might I suggest using a popup window that can be called by the site visitor?

    This works in most browsers (if not all), and would make it easy on your design and easy on your visitors.

    I or most anyone here can show you some code for any option you care to choose ie iframe, popup, or frames. With any one of these options it would be helpful to know the size of the webcam window you want.

    Hope this helps

    Late
    body { background:#000000; color:#000000 }
    HEY, WHO TURNED OUT THE LIGHTS?!?
    Easy come easy go!!!
    CryingWolf

  7. #7
    ComDude CryingWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    I don't know the cat drug it in!!!
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well after further review I have to say I like the page the way it is you could ad an iframe (ns under 6 be damned though) And then add say some javascript or just a client side call, to the frame page to update it say every 15 or 30 seconds...

    I think then you would still keep the page looking pretty nice!!!

    Hope this helps

    Late
    body { background:#000000; color:#000000 }
    HEY, WHO TURNED OUT THE LIGHTS?!?
    Easy come easy go!!!
    CryingWolf


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •