SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been using HotDog html editor for some time and was wondering if I should switch to the more "industry standard" Dreamweaver?

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

denali941

Misfit
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've never used HotDog before, but I'm guessing they're pretty different programs. My suggestion would be to download the free trial from Macromedia to see if you like how the program works before switching.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it would depend on what you want your software to do. Certainly before you spend that kind of money get the demo and have a play around. If you are looking for a true wysiwyg program then I would recommend NetObjects Fusion 5. It's a lot cheaper and easier to use than Dreamweaver.
    www.gr8-business.com
    Free software and tips to
    promote your site.

Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Switching would be wrong, although DreamWeaver 4 is an excellent product, it still misses some functions and the simplicity of a simple editor like Edit+, which I'm using to code PHP with.

I'd like to second what the others said: download the trial and see if you like it
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like the other posters, I'd agree that whether to switch or not depends on what your ultimate goal is for your design process.

While learning new software is a worthy goal (increasing your skill set, etc.), it can be counterproductive if it hampers your ability to get a site doing what you need it to do.