SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi i would like to welcome myself to this forum , iam a complete and utter virgin to web sites and web design i have very little knowledge of all aspects of it .So i would appreciate it if you could point me in the right direction on some points:
    1 i currently have dreamweaver 3 on my pc is this a good starting point for making sites?
    2 do i really need to learn all about html dhtml xhtml php css php asp etc..... and if so where should i start
    thats it for now apart from i bought myself some books which may help me on which was quit pricey are they a waste of time or not(books i got are :teach yourself html4 in 21 days ,dummies guie to dreamweavewr 3 also the html4 bible
    i would like to say thanks in advance for your comments on this post
    let me have it

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to SitePoint's Community Forums!

Originally posted by rascal
    hi i would like to welcome myself to this forum , iam a complete and utter virgin to web
    I've never heard that expression before.

I am sure Dreamweaver is a good starting point to build web sites with. There are many others like Frontpage - it all depends on preference.

Don't try to learn everything at once. Start off with the basics of HTML, and then advance to JavaScripts, CSS, and later PHP and MySQL. Progress in steps, be patient, because this stuff is not learned over night. Good luck!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I advise this order (roughly)...

- HTML (don't even think about doing anything else first!)
    - JavaScript and/or CSS
    - Either ASP or PHP (PHP is my choice, but ASP is less likely to confuse you)
    - Database backends - MySQL, MS SQL Server, Access, etc.

HTML is totally core - everything else will pretty much require a general knowledge of HTML and the 'Net.