SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question SSL Secure Web Form

I've done some Googling and searching through these forums, but I haven't seen anything address this specific need.

I am a hosting reseller and designer. A customer of mine wants to provide a "secure" web form on his website. The particular web form is an Application for Employment form that requests a Drivers' License number.

What would you recommend as the optimum and most efficient method to offer a secure web form?

Do to my lack of experience with SSL, I had to research and learn how SSL works. I need a dedicated IP and SSL certificate. This costs $60 to $150 a year depending on the source of SSL certificate. The company I resell hosting through offers ChainedSSL for $49.99/year and a dedicated IP for $15 setup and $2.95/month.

I know I can do a self-signed SSL, but I don't like the exclamation mark and warning. Are there any other inexpensive options? I plan to charge my customer for the service, so money isn't a huge issue. I just want to make sure SSL is the best option.

Derrick

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Disclaimer: I am not a security expert!

I have limited knowledge of security and hosting issues but I recently helped a client set up a form that collected credit card numbers. He was on a Windows server that had ASPEncrypt installed.

His site was set up so that
    -the customer was on a secure connection when the cc # was entered.
    -the admin area had a username and password
    -the cc# was encrypted in a database so that
    -the only person that could view the number had a matching certificate installed in IE on their local machine.
    -and, lastly, the cc# was deleted within a given period automatically.

I was quite impressed with the entire set up!

As far as I know, there are no such security measures that are similar for LAMP's (linux, apache, mysql, php).