SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Fire Bug Buginajar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    DFW Metro
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there anyway to place the banner ad on this future webpage exactly where it is shown to be?

    http://digitalwebpro.bizland.com/test.gif
    PyroGrafix Design Services
    Chris Hinkley
    buginajar@techisp.com

  2. #2
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Absolutely.

    Presuming you're using a %-width table, you can create a table row, then create two cells - one containing your site image and the other one with the banner image. Size the TD cell containing the banner image to the exact size (width=468). The banner being up the top helps immensely.
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  3. #3
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes. A banner should always be placed within the unscrollable screen area of which a page is loaded. ( considering 640 by 468 resolution users too )

    for the layout pointed out by BC, its the most common and practical way. however, if you want uniqueness, go for a different design. but make sure you still follow the banner placement rules.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Fire Bug Buginajar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    DFW Metro
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am going to use <table width="800".......

    This way my content doesnt get distorted at lower resolutions
    PyroGrafix Design Services
    Chris Hinkley
    buginajar@techisp.com

  5. #5
    Fire Bug Buginajar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    DFW Metro
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wait! I have an idea. (Tell me if it would work or not.

    >>There is about 3-4 pixels of space between the top of the page and the aad banner. If I made the top cell 6-8 pixels taller than 60 pixels (the hieght of the banner) and made the header image into two rows. Could i use the top part as a background and center the vertical alignment of the banner in that cell?


    Or did i make any sense at all?
    PyroGrafix Design Services
    Chris Hinkley
    buginajar@techisp.com

  6. #6
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you want to make use of that top area,
    you gotta add this code to your page in your <body> tag

    <body marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">

    and in your <head></head> tags
    <style type="text/css">
    body { margin : 0em; }
    </style>
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •