SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do they do it?

    Hi,

    what are the programs used to design GIF banners with the feature of adding input fields like drop-down menus, checkboxes radio buttons to it

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's no such thing. Those banners use HTML

  3. #3
    l 0 l silver trophybronze trophy lo0ol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Palo Alto
    Posts
    5,329
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Think of them as mini-webpages. You can use Photoshop or Paint Shop Pro to design graphics for them and then lay out the graphics in an HTML table, for example. You can then insert text boxes, drop downs, etc in the HTML code.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok how can I link that HTML table for example as a banner?

  5. #5
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can't really link a table. Are you doing this for one of your own sites are are you trying to make an ad for another site? A lot of sites don't accept HTML banners.

  6. #6
    l 0 l silver trophybronze trophy lo0ol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Palo Alto
    Posts
    5,329
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you should either brush up on your knowledge of HTML or hire someone else to do it for you.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so it's only possible in the case of HTML banners

  8. #8
    l 0 l silver trophybronze trophy lo0ol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Palo Alto
    Posts
    5,329
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is possible to do some sort of dropdowns in Flash, but usually they're not too useable. (monster.com's flash dropdown in its skyscrapers, for example). You can't just make a dropdown inside of a JPEG or GIF. You'd have to use HTML to display the various form elements. After all, what you're asking for (form elements) are HTML elements, not graphic elements.

  9. #9
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lo0ol
    I think you should either brush up on your knowledge of HTML or hire someone else to do it for you.
    Defenitely agree.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cant do with a gif, but if you use fireworks, you can get it to automatically program the javascript to make drop down menus etc.

    code is big though


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •