SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: php3 to php4

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Florence, Italy
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My computer crashed and since I had to re-install php, I installed php4 instead of php3 I was working with.
    I did it with the windows install thing.
    It says it installed correctly but files with .php don't work (I get a server error).
    Fortunately it does read my files with .php3 however it gives me strange errors.

    In a situation where I have

    if ($submit):

    bla bla... I get the following message:
    Undefined variable: submit in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\register.php3 on line 137

    and in a dropdown list I get:
    Warning: Undefined index: IndustryID in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\register.php3 on line 560


    I can't figure out how to get rid of these warnings. Does this have to do with the migration from php3 to php4? And if so, I might as well have the .php extension work. Any ideas?

    I even tried re-installing php3 but somehow doesn't work at all! Help I've already lost 2 days trying to figure this out.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It sounds like you have register gloabls turned off in your php.ini file, What web server are you using? The php.ini file needs to be changed

    Make sure these are set in the php.ini file

    variables_order = "EGPCS"
    register_globals = On


    To make the .php file work you may need to change something your server config so let me know what server yo uare using and I will try to help.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Florence, Italy
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using microsoft PWS on Windows 98

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Florence, Italy
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PS: the things you mentioned are set correctly in the .ini file!

  5. #5
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should really consider moving to apache from PWS, it is way easier to configure and you don't need to mess with the registry. Try downloading http://www.firepages.com.au/phpdev.htm And install it from there, it make a clean install of Apache, PHP and MySQL, mess around with it then try installing them on your own.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Florence, Italy
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Downloaded, Installed & it works!
    Once again you've saved my sanity :-)

    Thanks!!!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by freddydoesphp
    You should really consider moving to apache from PWS, it is way easier to configure and you don't need to mess with the registry. Try downloading http://www.firepages.com.au/phpdev.htm And install it from there, it make a clean install of Apache, PHP and MySQL, mess around with it then try installing them on your own.
    This is great... but I've already installed Apache and PHP4 on my Win2k. What is the best way to install MySQL now that I have Apache and PHP4 installed?
    Guillermo

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The original problem will have been with the error reporting level, you can set it in a similar fashion to USE strict, in perl - so that all previously undefined variables throw an error. It's also the same as setting Option Explicit in Visual Basic.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •