SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,
    I wanto create a virtual host using Apache web server on Windows 2000 for my web development.

    I want to create this example:
    Host: www.localwebtest.com
    Document folder: D:\webdev\

    I have Apache instaled on c:\apache\

    Can I use "Apache Manager for Windows" on Windows 2000?

    Thanks
    Guillermo
    Guillermo

  2. #2
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You won't be able to use a www.localwebtest.com name unless it is a valid domain name and the DNS for it points to your computer. You could use an ip number like 127.0.0.2 and map that to D:\webdev\

    But for your other example it simply won't work unless some DNS is pointing to the IP number of your computer.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What about if I specify that the domain localwebtest.com is in my machine (I can do this in the Host file on winnt)?
    Would that work?
    Guillermo

  4. #4
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am almost 100% sure that when trying to access it through the browser that you will run into problems with DNS. Please feel free to prove me wrong, I would like to know if it can be done. I have tried in the past but couldn't seem to get it to work right so give it a shot.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks
    because I've done in PWS and in the HOST file specified a domain name and worked.

    for example I specified that test12345.com was going to point to 127.0.0.2.
    Like this:
    Code:
    127.0.0.2    www.test12345.com
    I'll try it tonight on my home and let you know.
    Guillermo

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How will I need to specify the path in the http.conf file for the virtual host?
    Guillermo

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello.. I made it work.

    Here is what I did:

    Instaled Apache and PHP4 as specified here:
    http://shanx.com/php/install_win32.txt

    Then I modified the "Host" file. on windows 2000 the file is on c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\

    and added the following line:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       www.pulsorock2.com
    and in the httpd.conf of apache I added this line:
    Code:
    <VirtualHost *>
        ServerAdmin webmaster@pulsorock.com
        DocumentRoot G:\PulsoRockWebSite
        ServerName pulsorock2.com
        ErrorLog logs/pulsorock2.com-error_log
        CustomLog logs/pulsorock2.com-access_log common
    </VirtualHost>
    doing this made that when I access www.pulsorock2.com will lead to my local web server.

    I still have a question, because I',m not sure about the line
    Code:
    <VirtualHost *>
    should I change the * for something else or should be let as is?
    Guillermo

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    another question:
    Can I use "Apache Manager for Windows" on Windows 2000?

    I haven't instaled it yet, in fear that might mess up my settings... If someone have use it succesfully on Win2k, let me know.
    Guillermo

  9. #9
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I predict it should work just fine. Apache for Windows is Apache for Windows, whatever specific OS it's running under.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by kyank
    I predict it should work just fine. Apache for Windows is Apache for Windows, whatever specific OS it's running under.
    Thanks.. I contacted the Apache Manager creator and everything is running fine.
    Guillermo


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •