SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The site I am working on is a randomportal page, i.e. it is set as the browser startpage and when it loads it redirects the user to a random site every time.

The page has a two frame layout, the top frame is part of my page, the bottom frame (and main frame) is where the random page is displayed, this random page can be any page on the internet.

I want to put a link in the top frame that will close the frameset and display the contents of the bottom frame using the full browser window, I cant use a _TOP link as I dont know what page the user will be looking at when the click it) and there is no way to call the Perl script and get the random link that was called

Hope that made sense :-)

Thanks in advance
    WiseBuddha

Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not a perl expert but isn't there a way of assigning the contents of the bottom frame to a variable so that you can call the variable?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,

this is a post of pure personal opinion...no expertise involved.

Why are you using frames? Frames are baddddd...i would recommend using tables with a simple template file. They load quicker, look nicer on many occasions, have less copmatability issues, and are easier to code.

Just thought i'd shove my two cents down your throat.
    Sean Killeen [LinkedIn] [Twitter] [Web]

Warning: Reality.sys corrupted. Universe halted. Reboot? (Y/N)

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunatly frames are a necessary evil in this little design project, as the idea is that the frameset loads with a small top frame which contains some stuff and the main frame loads a random page which can be anything or anywhere on the net.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)