SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011
Results 251 to 272 of 272
  1. #251
    SitePoint Enthusiast lauriek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One word - needlesearch - this did it for me a few weeks ago - lovely search toolbar which allows you to integrate pretty much any online search into your toolbar - http://needlesearch.mozdev.org/

  2. #252
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DougBTX
    Prize of a one pixel spacer image to someone who can think of something interesting to say about Firefox which hasn't been said already Judge's decision is final!
    Using accesskeys in Firefox (and IE even) is far easier than the unholy shift+escape combination in Opera.

  3. #253
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    Using accesskeys in Firefox (and IE even) is far easier than the unholy shift+escape combination in Opera.
    Can't say I've ever used an access key

    Douglas
    Hello World

  4. #254
    SitePoint Zealot Firestorm2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A few things annoy me in Firefox, but overall I prefer it over IE.

  5. #255
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it's needlesearch from lauriek, or Using accesskeys from Vinnie so far. Time is running out, deadline is 11:59 20-4-2004 CET!

    Douglas
    Hello World

  6. #256
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm 99% sure this has been said, but when I see the ... after page 5 it makes me not want to read past page 1. So... my 2 cents:

    How the hell is ActiveX beneficial? It's gotta be the worst thing about IE!

  7. #257
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It makes some neat things possible, like an entirely online, always updated virus scanner.

  8. #258
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah and all that spam loaded behind your back. funny, not sure what virus scanner you use but mine doesn't use IE. in fact it doesn't use a browser at all to update. any of them that I see do. you can do anything and everthing on the net without IE.
    success is not by chance, it is by choice.

  9. #259
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    4,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sahajin
    yeah and all that spam loaded behind your back. funny, not sure what virus scanner you use but mine doesn't use IE. in fact it doesn't use a browser at all to update. any of them that I see do. you can do anything and everthing on the net without IE.
    McAfee VirusScan Online requires Internet Explorer and ActiveX.

    When the ActiveX security settings are set correctly (as mine are... ), there's little chance of something installing that you don't want. The only ActiveX controls I use are Windows Update, Office Update, and the Flash installer. And for the first two, ActiveX is beneficial because there's no other convenient way to do it.

    I sense circular debate...


  10. #260
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by compuwhiz7
    I sense circular debate...
    That'll be because the same functionality which lets a virus scanner scan you computer, is the functionality which lets a virus scan your address book

    Hmm, winners... I think my deadline is padded.

    Winner is: needlesearch, though you will get a red spacer image instead of a transparent one due to the fact that needlesearch relies on a feature already brought up: extensions in FF. You have a PM

    Douglas
    Hello World

  11. #261
    La la la la la bronze trophy lieut_data's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Waterloo, ON
    Posts
    1,517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My name is Steve, and I'm a super-villian.

  12. #262
    SitePoint Wizard jax502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,031
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You won't get the dreadful pop ups! And yes..."Tabbed Browsing"
    jax502

  13. #263
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by compuwhiz7
    McAfee VirusScan Online requires Internet Explorer and ActiveX.

    When the ActiveX security settings are set correctly (as mine are... ), there's little chance of something installing that you don't want. The only ActiveX controls I use are Windows Update, Office Update, and the Flash installer. And for the first two, ActiveX is beneficial because there's no other convenient way to do it.

    I sense circular debate...

    again, I still don't need IE. I update virus scan with mcafee's update. You choose to use ActiveX and online scanning, I do not and I still surf happy. I install ServicePacks at my convenience, I do not let windows choose for me. so yeah you can still do it without using IE or activeX.
    success is not by chance, it is by choice.

  14. #264
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oops first time for everything I guess...

    (attached)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    » Matt's debating is not a crime «
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf ö Clicky

  15. #265
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another reason I use Opera: If it crashes (or something else crashes your computer, or you just press the "off" button etc etc) then it remembers what you were doing, which pages were open, any emails you are half way through writing and all that

    Douglas
    Hello World

  16. #266
    SitePoint Wizard megamanXplosion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    1,099
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DougBTX
    Another reason I use Opera: If it crashes (or something else crashes your computer, or you just press the "off" button etc etc) then it remembers what you were doing, which pages were open, any emails you are half way through writing and all that

    Douglas
    Yes, that's undoubtedly my favorite feature of Opera. The snap-back (back and forward navigation) is my second favorite feature. Paste+Go for form-fields is my third (come on browser developers, put this option in other browsers, I hate having to rightclick->paste then switch to the keyboard to press enter, it's annoying). I could keep going but that gives a pretty good estimate of the reason I use Opera. It doubles, if not triples, my productivity.

  17. #267
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    over here
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What a discussion, I lost half my life reading all this! I gotta quit smoking. I prefer opera, but on some of the pages I visit for work, for whatever reason the javascript doesn't work and then the pages are all "wonky". Anybody know why? I know javascript WORKS in opera, cause I have seen it work before, the box is checked in options and everything.. The forward and rewind ROCK! I use them all the time. I can't say enough good things about Opera, I don't use IE.. EVER. Primarlily use Opera, but use FF when I need something done at work. Funny I haven't found too many pages that go all "wonky" in my casual surfing with opera..

  18. #268
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jspew
    What a discussion, I lost half my life reading all this! I gotta quit smoking. I prefer opera, but on some of the pages I visit for work, for whatever reason the javascript doesn't work and then the pages are all "wonky". Anybody know why? I know javascript WORKS in opera, cause I have seen it work before, the box is checked in options and everything.. The forward and rewind ROCK! I use them all the time. I can't say enough good things about Opera, I don't use IE.. EVER. Primarlily use Opera, but use FF when I need something done at work. Funny I haven't found too many pages that go all "wonky" in my casual surfing with opera..
    If Opera can't handle the JS on a site, it's probably because the person who coded those scripts didn't have Opera in mind. It's unfortunate, but many developers don't specialize in Javascript, and fewer still don't know how to code for the widest variety of browsers possible. Now if you're using Opera 5 or 6 that's another story .

  19. #269
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    over here
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using the free opera off of the site.. Does that matter?? cause if the paid version is better they should have that built into the free one. I sure wouldn't buy a browser (when FF is free) that didn't do all the things FF could do for me..

  20. #270
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jspew
    I am using the free opera off of the site.. Does that matter?? cause if the paid version is better they should have that built into the free one. I sure wouldn't buy a browser (when FF is free) that didn't do all the things FF could do for me..
    The only difference between the paid and free version of Opera is the ads.

  21. #271
    SitePoint Addict moonchild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    U$A
    Posts
    258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RockNRollPig
    2 words: TABBED BROWSING
    Exactly. I made the switch, and I don't miss Internet Explorer really. I am still having a few problems adjusting to the toolbars, but that is about it. I also like the way it seems to be more standardized as far as W3C specs in coding.

    I.E. If you using a xhtml 1.0 strict doctype in I.E. and try making a horizontal line by using <td bgcolor="#000000"><img src="1px.gif" width="1" height="1"></td>, I.E. will display that, but in Firefox, it will look horrible. Now by switching to xhtml 1.0 transitional, the problem is solved. I like that a lot, seems like things are more standards-compliant in firefox.

  22. #272
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    The only difference between the paid and free version of Opera is the ads.
    That's a big thing tough! Now my toolbars take up less space than the ads by themselves You can't do that in FF without loosing functionality! I can't see the tabs in O, but I can stil use them via the scroll wheel on my mouse

    I got a new T610 today - beautiful

    Douglas
    Hello World


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •