SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Server Not Found... When It's There!

    G'morning everyone

    Getting a bit of a weird issue with an internal server. Trying to connect via IP to:

    https://172.23.3.31 (internal IP, so I don't much care who knows it)

    Anyways, it prompts with an SSL warning (it's an unsigned cert on the server), so it obviously knows the server is there, and IIS is running. The server pings just fine.

    But for some reason we can't access the site at all.

    It comes back with "Server Not Found".

    Any tips?
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  2. #2
    Idler. Chazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    336
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Evening,

    1) Does it have uplink to the cruel outside world?

    2) Does it work without SSL?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1) No

    2) No, the server is set-up to only respond to SSL requests

    (it does respond to ping's, telnet, etc)
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hangon, by "it" do you mean the requesting or target server?

    Sorry.

    Requesting

    1) Yes
    2) Doesn't apply

    Target

    2) No
    3) No, regular port 80 requests do not (... now that I think about it, they don't return an SSL required error either...)
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  5. #5
    Idler. Chazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    336
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was thinking that perhaps its just SSL thats fruity.. I'd try it with HTTP only to make sure otherwise it works fine. Then look at SSL issues...

    just a suggestion =/

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict marycp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Monroe, CT
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with Chazzy, get HTTP working first. SSL has its own quirks. After bringing port 80 online, try "telnet <serverip> 80 to see if it answers on 80 and then try it on a browser. Afterwards change 80 to 443 (the SSL port).

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Agh, I forgot a few critical pieces of information:

    1. The server isn't ours, it belongs to another company, on our network.
    2. It works from a whole host of other PC's on different subnets
    3. All the servers on this subject cannot access the Destination Server, and they are all set-up the same (same image).

    We think it's probably a networking issue, but the networking guys walked their laptop over there, plugged it into the switch and it worked (dynamic scope and DHCP assured it had the same subnet credentials).

    At this point we're a bit at a loss, so help is appreciated.

    To summarize, HTTP is working, from other subnets. SSL is working, to outside servers (like https://google.com) and other internal servers.

    Thanks again

    J
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  8. #8
    Idler. Chazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    336
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I reckon you should batter the networking guys with a spoon because they didnt fix it

    Im wondering if its because its not accepting connections from your IP range or something stupid but then if the laptop got on ... I could only imagine maybe that was cached? - or it has certificates held for the site. Maybe its a cerification problem from the SSL end or indeed the tunneling isnt working properly.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hadn't thought of the cache issue.

    We've narrowed it down to 4 possible failure points, and why it probably isn't those:

    Network: Plugged a laptop in, and it works (cache could be an issue, we'll check)
    Server: It works from other computers
    Configuration: We can't rule this out, but can't figure out what would cause it
    Browser: We've tried it in FireFox as well

    So, it could be cache (sending network out again to try), and it could be configuration, but we can't figure out why.

    We're currently looking at DNS, router port blocking and the TCP/IP stack

    J
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  10. #10
    Idler. Chazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    336
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Take one of your puters (in a rucksack) and go plug it into a switch over there

    (also slap network as this is their forte)

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Agh, okay, it was a networking issue.

    Reverse DNS lookups were being corrupted by local TCP issues.

    Fun.

    Solved.

    Thanks guys!
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  12. #12
    Idler. Chazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    336
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hehe cool

    // EDIT //

    Now what can I to avoid coursework ... *debates changing the motd on several boxes independently and assigning them all colourful names*


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •