SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Help with xToolTip

    hi
    ok, I downloaded xLibrary finally & decided to use xToolTip in my upcoming personal website(http://www.iGeek.info).
    I'm using the ToolTip for giving descriptions of links. I was using the title attributes before & decided to colourise the tooltips.

    Ok, here's the problem.
    According to the xLibrary docs, the tooltip function takes the value of the title attribute & show that in the tooltip it generates. But the problem is that when I hover the mouse on the link, I get both xToolTip & the normal tooltip(b'coz of the title attribute).
    Is there a way by which only the xToolTip is visible & not the default tooltip? It looks weird & besides, I'm using HTML tags in the title attribute to format the xToolTip. And HTML tags are not supported in default tooltips.

    Hope some one can help me out.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've tried a few tweaks in the <a> tag like removing the title attribute & enclosing it in <span> or <div> with the title, but no luck.

    where are you o' Mike Foster?
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can't anyone help?
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  4. #4
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi asp_funda,

    Your link doesn't work for me.

    Are you starting from this demo?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you mean that www.iGeek.info is not working, then yes, its not working since I haven't pointed it to a web space yet.
    But the link you gave, yes, the problem is there too. I get 2 tooltips, one produced by your DHTML script & one by the browser b'coz of the title attribute. I want to get rid of the 2nd tooltip, the one produced by the browser.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  6. #6
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Disabling the standard title tooltip is browser-specific - I don't know if you can do anything about that.

    Note that the demo shows how to provide an array of text (html) that will be used for tooltips instead of using the title attribute.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so, can't it be anything other than the title attribute that gives the input for tooltip text?
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  8. #8
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The demo shows how to provide an array of text (html) that will be used for tooltips instead of using the title attribute.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In the demo, the alternate way of displaying it is
    Code:
    new xTooltipGroup(['p0','p1','p2','p3', 'p4','p5'],
      'tipGrp4s', 'right', 4, 0,
      ["<p><b>heading</b></p><p>text</p>",
      "<p><b>heading</b></p><p>text</p>",
      "<p><b>heading</b></p><p>text</p>",
      "<p><b>heading</b></p><p>text</p>",
      "<p><b>heading</b></p><p>text</p>",
      "<p><b>heading</b></p><p>text</p>"]);
    But what I want to know is p0, p1, etc. as 1st parameter? I tried doing it like
    Code:
    new xTooltipGroup('ttipM', 'ttippC', 'mouse', 0, 30, 'My Tooltip');
    but it didn't work. can you explain it a bit?
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  10. #10
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look at my explanation on the demo page.

    'p0', 'p1', etc. are IDs whose elements will have tooltips. Their tooltip text comes from the last array argument. Element p0 will have the tooltip text in the 0th index of the array, etc.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great!! Worked like a charm!

    So that means that I can do one or more tooltips with a single call to the xTooltipGroup() function.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  12. #12
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool

    Yes, an xTooltipGroup object represents a group of elements whose tooltip is styled the same. You can have different groups - each group has its own tip style.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok
    Thanks again.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •