SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Git-R-Done
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to download a backup copy of a MS SQL database?

I would like to download a copy of an MS SQL database that is at a hosting provider and upload it to another provider. I can log in using Enterprise Manager but I cannot figure out how to get a copy of what I need so I can move it over to a new site. If somebody can give me a list of steps of what I need to do to download everything off the old server and what I need to do to upload it to the new one, I would be really appreciative.
    John Saunders

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there's 2 ways. use DTS (you'll have to read up, i'm not very good at it). the way that i do it mostly is to right click on the database and go to import or export data - depending on which db you right clicked on. it's pretty easy, just follow the instructions.

edit -- check out this thread: http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/show...56#post1041556

Git-R-Done
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bill,

Thanks for your response. I read your other post and am not sure if I did this right. Does this sound correct?

Right click on database
    All Tasks
    Export Data
    Next
    Enter the old web host's login info
    Enter the old web host's login info a second time?
    Copy tables and view from the source database
    Select All Tables
    Here's where I get confused.

My host gives me 3 databases and I'm already maxed out. Is this the correct way to do this?