SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 80
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    nh
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    force flash to play below dhtml menu?

    Hi all,

    I have a .swf files which runs next to a flyout menu. When the menu flies out, unfortunately it appears behind the flash movie, effectively ruining my navigation.



    Is there a way to force the flash movie to play below the menu, or a way to declare the dhtml to load on top of everything else within the document, or will flash always play on top?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot dawgbone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had similar problems too... couldn't find an answer then, but does anyone know if z-index in CSS would work for this?

    When I first learned about z-index's, that was the first thing I thought of, but I never tried it out...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    nh
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    figured it out...

    change the window mode to transparent Windowless in the Publish Settings and resave the movie. Grab the new flash code for the movie.

    Then, throw this div tage around your flash code in the HTML Document:

    <DIV ID="flashMovie" STYLE="width: 400; height: 180; z-index: 0;">
    flashcode here
    </DIV>

    swap out the appropriate width and height dimensions for your movie.

    Worked for me!

  4. #4
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...ents/wmode.htm

    And I'm sticking this thread, since it comes up so often in discussions related to Flash, DHTML, and CSS.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict picasso-trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    somewhere out there
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    _________________________

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast Deo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is the easiest way of doing it. Just add wmode="transparent" as a param and to the embed tag.

    Like this:



    Code:
    <param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
    <EMBED src="swf.swf" quality=best bgcolor=#FFFFFF wmode="transparent" WIDTH="550" ...
    Mark
    www.MySpaceWatcher.com
    Tracking & Statistics For MySpace.com Users

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this works

    <style>
    .FlashContent {
    z-index: 3;
    }


    .NavContent {
    z-index: 1;
    }

    </style>





    ----the dhtml nav-----------

    <SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="defaultMenu.js" type=text/javascript STYLE="display: block; position: absolute;
    top: 20px; right: 50px; bottom: 20px; left: 50px; z-index: 100;"></SCRIPT>

    ----------------------------





    ----the embedded flash------

    <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="765" height="205" STYLE="display: block; position: absolute;
    top: 102px; right: 0px; left: 0px; z-index: 1;">
    <PARAM NAME="wmode" value="transparent">
    <param name="movie" value="home.swf">
    <param name="quality" value="high">
    <embed src="home.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="765" height="205"></embed></object>

    -----------------------------


    I did this for a site a while back, the client has since mangled my work, but you can still see the DHTML over flash example here

    http://www.877mobilan.com/main.html

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member distendo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the partial answer: it fails in Mozilla (Firefox and Mozilla 1.5) and Opera (and the dhtml menu scrunches up in Opera). I haven't tried any other browsers, but gather it's only good for IE.

    It's an annoyance...

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am having this problem too, and all the recommendations failed to work for me...

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member bright_star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did this for a site a while back, the client has since mangled my work, but you can still see the DHTML over flash example here
    thats so aweful vanillaorange, i have yet to learn DHTML coding lolol but thats an awesome effect.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member JDW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Transparent Flash in Firefox

    I've been playing with some transparent Flash via WMODE and found that it works great in most Mac and Windows browsers except Firefox (0.9.x) on MacOS X. Although the transparency comes through, the Flash content is thrown to the bottom of the page. I wonder if this is due to a problem in Firefox or in my code. I would appreciate hearing the thoughts of you Flash Transparency experts out there.

    Thanks.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JDW
    I've been playing with some transparent Flash via WMODE and found that it works great in most Mac and Windows browsers except Firefox (0.9.x) on MacOS X. Although the transparency comes through, the Flash content is thrown to the bottom of the page. I wonder if this is due to a problem in Firefox or in my code. I would appreciate hearing the thoughts of you Flash Transparency experts out there.

    Thanks.
    Hi... Just thought I'd mention that after much research in the MM tech notes, on Google and finally, with an MM engineer, I wrote up a free article about this last week. It's not actually neccessary to use wmode transarent... for most purposes wmode opaque works better since the rendering in that mode is quicker.

    If you'd like to read the whole article (include a mention of hiding non-essential Flash "decoration" from screen readers using the same method) it's here:
    http://www.communitymx.com/content/a....cfm?cid=E5141

    Hope it helps somebody!
    Stephanie Sullivan
    VioletSky Design
    http://violetsky.net

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by VioletSky
    Hi... Just thought I'd mention that after much research in the MM tech notes, on Google and finally, with an MM engineer, I wrote up a free article about this last week. It's not actually neccessary to use wmode transarent... for most purposes wmode opaque works better since the rendering in that mode is quicker.

    If you'd like to read the whole article (include a mention of hiding non-essential Flash "decoration" from screen readers using the same method) it's here:
    http://www.communitymx.com/content/a....cfm?cid=E5141

    Hope it helps somebody!
    Nice one Steph :-)

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Steve. Long time no see.
    Stephanie Sullivan
    VioletSky Design
    http://violetsky.net

  15. #15
    SitePoint Member ludwig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brighton, England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have just implemented some drop down menus, and used the above discussed method to get the menus over flash. It worked fine on my computer, and on most of the test machines, but another user has reported it doesn't on his.

    And here's the really confusing part: this user has the exact same version of IE, with the exact same version of flash, running on the very same version of windows (IE 6.0.2800.1106 with Flash 7,0,19,0 on Win2000 - he also experienced the same problem on an XP machine).

    Anyone have a clue what could be causing this?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Clemson, SC
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks

  17. #17
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    vanillaorange,

    I like yr drop menu.... Can you provide the code for it ??

    Thanks,

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good stuff - thanks

  19. #19
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Flash hides dhtml menu in firefox

    Hi,

    I've tried everything and still flash hides the dhtml menu in firefox 1.1
    It works great in ie but not in firefox.
    I'm tried using the wmode opaque and transperent and using z-index but nothing works....I'm desperate.

    Thanks

    Idan

    idan@arbel-designs.com
    Idan Arbel
    Arbel Designs
    Email/msn idan@arbel-designs.com
    http://www.arbel-designs.com

  20. #20
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, Almost forgot here's a the link to see: http://www.arbel-designs.com/bicon/

    thanks again
    Idan Arbel
    Arbel Designs
    Email/msn idan@arbel-designs.com
    http://www.arbel-designs.com

  21. #21
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Removed.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Addict artemis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    295
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't suppose anybodies found a firefox solution yet? The site Im building is for our only customer using Firefox.

  23. #23
    SitePoint Addict artemis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    295
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I just tried http://www.communitymx.com/content/s...wmodetrans.htm and it works in Firefox, mine is using the same code but doens't work.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the solution of to send the flash movie behind the dropdown menu list in the browser. yea u have to add the "window mode" property like this
    <param name="wmode" value="opaque">
    in u'r HTML code. Just do it it will work.
    Myself working nicely.

  25. #25
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Here's my simple solution

    Here's how you can have a Flash animation play below a dhtml menu (I use OpenCube) in both IE and Firefox.


    Step 1 Build your Flash animation with a transparent PNG (I use Photoshop to build mine)

    Step 2 Insert this PNG graphic so that its the background image (layer 1) in your Flash animation.

    Step 3 Publish the flash and insert it into your HTML page.

    Step 4 Make sure you have these parameters set when inserting yoru animation in the html document.

    <param name="quality" value="high">
    <param name="embed" value="transparent">

    THATS IT YOUR DONE! PROBLEM SOLVED

    OH YEA, I just learned something today about this issue. Make sure there is no CSS pointing to the Flash animation in your HTML doc. CSS will thwart this solution in Firefox.

    Have a great DAY and make some killer flash pages!
    Scott
    BlueFoxCreative


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •