SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Before I start, if this is in the wrong forum or if this is a repeated question, I'm sorry... I'm new

Okay, I want to use PHP and SSI on my main page, but I was wondering if this is possible. And if it is, which extension do I use: .php or .shtml? If it is not possible, can I make it work through .htaccess? I have a couple PHP scripts that I would like to try out to replace current perl scripts that use SSI, but I also use SSI to incorporate my navbar, footer, etc. and would still like to use SSI in that way. If anyone knows if it's possible to use both SSI and PHP on one page, please help

Thanks in advance.

Mike

P.S. if there is any way to incorporate my navbar and other things using PHP instead of SSI, that could be good too. But I would prefer that I could call it from a text file just like I do with SSI. I'm a total newbie when it comes to PHP (and most other languages too) so I have no clue what exactly PHP can and can't do

Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Replace all SSI tags with this PHP function:

<?php
    include("path/to/file.txt");
    ?>

SSI and PHP can be used on one page, but then the server must be so configured that it looks in .php files for both PHP and SSI tags.
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well i actually asked the same no so long ago.

what you could do is make apache parse excutables instead of *.shtml. but it only works if your running a *nix server and i can get complicated.

stick to php includes!
    DIEGO MOORE

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)