SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Allright now I have always been a Unix type person but in the spirit of learning something new (PHP4 and MySql on NT) I got an account at http://www.webexpose.net. Here's the thing though... they support php4 and mysql but the question is: How the heck do you create a MySql database on an NT sever (virtual account) if you are not "root" hmm I mean the administrator?


    As silly as this sounds right now... here's a copy of the email that I sent to support along with their responce which basically sounds like they had no idea how to do it.

    =========================================================

    We don't directly create these. You should be able to create these yourself
    if your familiar enough. In the near future we are installing a section on
    the control panel to automate this. Our suggestion is if your not
    comfortable with attempting it yourself (as others have done successfully),
    wait for a week until the new panel is operational.

    The Webmaster
    webmaster@webexpose.net
    Webexpose.net Internet Services
    ...."let us serve you."

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Alex Mingorance
    Sent: Sunday, October 01, 2000 10:17 AM
    To: support@webexpose.net
    Subject: MySql


    Dear Sir/Madam,

    In your list of services it says that you support MySql. Does this database
    already exist for our account and if so how do we access
    it? If it has not been created yet, is there a charge for this? Any information regarding this matter would be appreciated.

    Thank you
    Alex Mingorance
    Wilco Internet, Inc
    ===========================================================

    Now does that make sence to anyone here? ("You SHOULD be able to create these yourself...")
    Is it just me or is MySql on NT a running process and not something that you just upload and query much less create a database remotely and on a virtual account no less?.
    Perhaps I should ask them for their PcAnywhare administrator logon Info..... interesting.


    Thank for any help given in advance

  2. #2
    Feel my RewiredMind KMxRetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Exeter, Devon, UK
    Posts
    477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wouldn't bother. I was with webexpose for a number of months and didn't get any half decent responses to technical questions.

    They won't give you telnet access to get to MySQL, they won't set up a database for you and they won't just say that they don't support it.

    I would be looking elsewhere for a host my friend...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    telnet to NT ? ok, i've seen that in a Win 2000 installation, telnet features.. heh

    oh well

    dont mind me.. i'm a Linux fan
    cogito, ergo sum

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm way out of league here with mySQL, but can you create a database on your computer and then drop it in the server using an FTP program?
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  5. #5
    Feel my RewiredMind KMxRetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Exeter, Devon, UK
    Posts
    477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Afraid not westmich, you need access to the actual MySQL server directly or using something like PhpMyAdmin or similar.

    Vinay, Webexpose WERE bragging about offering Telnet to their NT accounts, I got it from them. Don't shoot the messenger

  6. #6
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    KMX is correct - I was with WebExpose before their.... uhmmm.... meltdown in December. It (Telnet) worked OK too.
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL.. telnet to an NT server..

    haha, nevermind, that just cracked me up ...

    I'd like to fiddle with that and find some bugs

    as for creating a mySQL db, as far as i'd know (and i dont run an NT server) , you'd need access to the server itself (pcanywhere, etc) or have the admin set it up ...

    I was once with a host (a few years ago) and I was new to SQL, i asked the host about a database, and they said the same thing, telling ME that i'm a lousy coder, and "I" dont know how to create a database... ... oh well
    cogito, ergo sum

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard jumpthru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How sad...it used to get such good reviews...from wayne!

    I cant belive they told you, you should know how to create it!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •