SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How unsafe is it to keep the database connection (thus username and password) in the php files and NOT in include files? Is it easy for hackers to get into my database?

I ask this because I read the thread on includes and putting them in a protected directory. But I can't hide that I'm a newbie and have no idea how to do that .htaccess stuff (since the php.ini file belongs to my ISP!)

chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well if your server messes up and the file does not get parsed, you will have your database username and password just sitting out in the open..... So putting your variables for databases in another file in another directory is usually the best idea.

Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Definitely in an include file preferably outside the web root.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You actually don't need to do any .htaccess stuff to do this. You can put the absolute path in your call to include().

For example, if your Web directory on your ISP's server is /home/willow/www/ and you had a file called myscript.php in that directory that needed access to the database, you could put the connection parameters in directory /home/willow/phpinclude/db.php, and then use the following command in myscript.php to load it:

Code:
    include("/home/willow/phpinclude/db.php");
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)