SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 46 of 46
  1. #26
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A dos window should open and stay open with apache running.. written in it.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  2. #27
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by freddydoesphp
    By all means upgrade to PHP4 there are a ton of new features as well as built-in session support. All the great array function like in_array() and many others are only in PHP4. IFHO there should be no reason people still have php3 on their servers except pure laziness.
    What about the syntax? Does it change? Because in that case, I'll need to re-write most of my code. Can I still use the php3 extension?
    Guillermo

  3. #28
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    O course you just need to add a line to the httpd.conf file to parse .php3 files as php
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  4. #29
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by freddydoesphp
    O course you just need to add a line to the httpd.conf file to parse .php3 files as php
    And the syntax? Is the same, because I once heard, it changed a bit.
    Guillermo

  5. #30
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh..ok, my dos window closes straight away....

  6. #31
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pete and apache still runs without the dos window open, me thinks you have an error somewhere, try opening a dos prompt navigate to the apache folder then type apache you will see what error it is this way.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  7. #32
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    APACHE.EXE: cannot determine local host name.
    Use the server name directive to set it manually

    that is the error i get, any know what it means?

  8. #33
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    in the httpd.conf file set

    ServerName localhost
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  9. #34
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This apache stuff confuses me, i though this was like a web server..

    Apache does nothing for me, i know get APACHE RUNNING...

    in mSDOS...

    Do i have to have a web root or soemthing?

  10. #35
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I suggest that you read up on how to install and configure apache, IMHO if you want to get into real web serving apache is a must. Once you get apache running your webroot will be accessible through http://localhost and is located wherever the DocumentRoot directive is set to, by default it is the htdocs folder in the folder where you installed apache.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  11. #36
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you sooo much, now i can test php script without uploading....

    Also, is there a way to check PHP scripts tha use a MySQL database???

  12. #37
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Download MySQL to your computer install it start it and build some databases. http://www.mysql.com

    I will let you try for yourself, ask again if you are having difficulties
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  13. #38
    SitePoint Addict sstaubin01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Ont, Canada
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is what you need to read.

    http://www.phpbuilder.com/columns/mo...16.php3?page=1

    It's a little dated but will set you up. Remember PHP4 has built in MySql support therefore the extension=php3_mysql.dll stuff isn't necessary.

    Download Brian's Apache Manager that he mentions in the article. I makes startup a snap. I don't know why it isn't included with the current download.

    http://brian.threadnet.com/apmgr.html


  14. #39
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by freddydoesphp
    Download MySQL to your computer install it start it and build some databases. http://www.mysql.com

    I will let you try for yourself, ask again if you are having difficulties
    Can I install MySQL for the win2k computer with Apache I'm going to build for developing and testing?
    And how do I install it? It is for advanced users?
    <Edited by pulsorocker on 01-23-2001 at 11:50 AM>
    Guillermo

  15. #40
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, this MYSQL thing, which directory do i install it to?

    And which file to i run in order to add databses?

    Is there a way that i can dump a database into it?

  16. #41
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It really doesn't matter I like c:\mysql
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  17. #42
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Got it working, found a nice tutorial...

  18. #43
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by petesmc
    Got it working, found a nice tutorial...
    Hi petesmc,
    Here's that tutorial you found?
    Guillermo

  19. #44
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://www.net-language.com/workshop...sp?Workshop=21

    Can i ask something?

    How can I add a user named:

    petesmc

    and with a pasword of

    test


    then after, how can i change the password of petesmc?

  20. #45
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    login as root

    mysql>GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO petemc@localhost
    IDENTIFIED BY 'test' WITH GRANT OPTION;

    mysql>FLUSH PRIVIELEGES;

    To change password
    mysql>use mysql
    mysql>UPDATE user set Password = paswword('somenewpassword') WHERE User = 'petemc';
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  21. #46
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanx sooo much...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •