SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Monterey County, CA
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Are iframes accessible?

    I'm currently overhauling a county website as the JavaScript I'm using for navigation is starting to fall apart in newer browsers outside of quirks-mode. I decided that while I'm doing this I should take the time to make it accessible for voice-readers and non-script browsers.

    My problem is that with a bureaucracy in a budget crisis I want to able to change the non-JavaScript menu without having to update each individual page. I think iframes would work for this, but I'm not sure if they are considered accessible. I'm pretty sure that frames are frowned on, and I'm wondering if that extends to iframes as well.

    I'm trying to find a solution just in html and JavaScript. I don't have any experience with xml or any of the server side solutions that I think could solve this problem.

    Any help or links to relevant articles/threads would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes, iframes have the same problem as frames. You can make them a little more accessible by placing alternate content inside of your iframe tags, like so:
    Code:
    <iframe src="http://www.mysite.com/">
      <a href="http://www.mysite.com/">My Site</a>
    </iframe>
    This way, if a user doesn't have iframes enabled, they can still use the link to get to your intended page.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Monterey County, CA
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That hurts. Do you know of any other way to solve this?
    Or do dynamic content and accessibility just not go together.

  4. #4
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A_Brisson
    That hurts. Do you know of any other way to solve this?
    Or do dynamic content and accessibility just not go together.
    Dynamic content and accessibility go together just fine; it's frames and accessibility (and search engines and usability and etc.) that don't mix.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Monterey County, CA
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the replies vgarcia.

    Just to make sure I'm not missing anything, so there isn't really a way to have dynamic content like that and still have it accessible short of PHP/MySQL?

  6. #6
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A_Brisson
    Just to make sure I'm not missing anything, so there isn't really a way to have dynamic content like that and still have it accessible short of PHP/MySQL?
    Kind of. But hey, PHP hosting is cheap and PHP itself is easy to learn.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Monterey County, CA
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    Kind of. But hey, PHP hosting is cheap and PHP itself is easy to learn.
    don't get me started...
    All my hosting is down in-house by the county's IT. They're nice people, but it's nearly impossible to get them to do anything new. I still have to publish using Frontpage, and all the asp scripts we use are handed down to us by them.

    But thanks for the help. I guess I should start getting into some PHP.

  8. #8
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A_Brisson
    don't get me started...
    All my hosting is down in-house by the county's IT. They're nice people, but it's nearly impossible to get them to do anything new. I still have to publish using Frontpage, and all the asp scripts we use are handed down to us by them.

    But thanks for the help. I guess I should start getting into some PHP.
    If your servers are ready for ASP, then why not use that?

  9. #9
    Forensic SEO Consultant Webnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    1,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A_Brisson it's somewhat easy to make iframes accessible. In most cases, simply:
    <iframe src="myhtml.html" width="400" height="300">
    <a href="myhtml.html" target="_blank" onclick="window.open(this.href,
    'popup', 'width=400,height=250'); return false;">myfile</a>
    </iframe>

    would do it. Of course in xhtml strict, you have to do it without the "_blank" (and possibly with the onclick), but you can always put that in a script section.

    But I still advice you to keep in mind possible problems mentioned here: http://www.greenspun.com/bboard/q-an...?msg_id=008siT

  10. #10
    Ribbit... Eric.Coleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    In your basement
    Posts
    1,268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why not use a scrollable div tag?
    Eric Coleman
    We're consentratin' on fallin' apart
    We were contenders, now throwin' the fight
    I just wanna believe, I just wanna believe in us

  11. #11
    Forensic SEO Consultant Webnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    1,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Css Iframe Mimics

    What Eric.Coleman mentioned above, it would be a great idea! See here how: http://www.beforethedog.com/tutoriali/tut1.htm

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you Eric Coleman. That tutorial is awesome. I'm sure that the content inside the div tag is still indexable by search engines. Does everyone else concur?

  13. #13
    High fives all round! bradley317's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chester, UK
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup, that's the best way to do it. Search engines will have no problems, as the source code never gets touched.
    Hello, hello, what's all this shouting?
    We'll have no trouble here

    (Helping a pal... http://www.funkdub.info)

  14. #14
    SitePoint Addict shrikie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Hyperion
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Only too bad the MAC IE is so buggy when it comes to using these,

    http://www.macedition.com/cb/ie5macbugs/#overflow


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •