SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Having a little problem with webpage design and IE.

    I can understand that IE has poor support for css but what I am trying to do is quite simple. I am trying to create a page that has a top navigation menu that has seperate link styles than the rest of the links on the website. I have completed that portion successfully but now IE is having problems, it's making the page view improperly. Below is two links, one to the main template page and one the nav menu which is being included using a php include (at a seperate location). Please bear with me, the site is still under HEAVY construction.

    Page template: http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/template.php/

    Nav menu include location: http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/includes/header.php

    You will notice on the template page that the top menu seems to break into two lines. This is not ment to be this way. Mozilla and Netscape are viewing this page properly, IE is having the difficulties. Any suggestions would be much apreciated! Thank you in advance for anyones time spent solving my problem.

  2. #2
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The template.php link doesn't work and the header.php is just some plain links....

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right sorry, the template.php file is broken (accidentally placed a "/" after the file extension):

    http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/template.php

    Plues, the header.php file is meant to be links, its an include so I can easily make changes the navigation when required, without having to change thousands of files.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried changing the td width? 450 seems a bit narrow for the amount of text you are adding. Just a quick guess before my morning coffee.

    ??? <td width="450" height="20">&nbsp;<a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/">Home</a> | <a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/forums/">Forums</a> | <a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/msnexpress/">msn.express</a> | <a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/downloads/">Downloads</a> | <a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/articles/">Articles</a> | <a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/customization/">Customization</a> | <a href="http://msnwh.dot-totally.co.uk/tools/">Tools</a></td>

  5. #5
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Get rid of the width="450". It is completely unneccessary.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you so much for the response. I have the tendency to miss the smallest things. It works beautifully now. If you want to have a gander now, you will see what the page is supposed to look like. Thanks again!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •