SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have edited the php.ini file, changing the save path to the following,

    session.save_path = C:\Windows\Temporary Internet Files

    I still get an error saying this:

    Warning: open(/tmp\sess_fc015fa4e0c1e1c7c916d336f369da42, O_RDWR) failed: m (2) in c:\phpdev2\www\session.php on line 2
    count
    Warning: open(/tmp\sess_fc015fa4e0c1e1c7c916d336f369da42, O_RDWR) failed: m (2) in Unknown on line 0

    Warning: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/tmp) in Unknown on line 0

    Where is it getting /tmp from!?

    Any help is greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you running php as module or as CGI? you may need ot start and stop your web server for this to take effect if you are using CGI mode. run phpinfo(); and see what the setting says for session.save_path also I noticed your temp dir has spaces, php will have a hard time with this try making a folder named sessions at the c:\ level like

    c:\sessions and use that.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  3. #3
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am running it as CGI (since I am having problems with Apache running by itself). I shut down the server, changed the php.ini to c:\sessions and created that folder. I then restarted the server and went to phpinfo();

    It told me the sessions were still being saved under /tmp

  4. #4
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hate to say it but it seems you are probably editing the wrong php.ini file. Are yo usure you are editing the one in C:\Windows for win98 or C:\WINNT for win2k
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  5. #5
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was editing the one in C:\Windows
    I just got smart and looked in the php folder of the bundle, and there sat another php.ini. I edited it and now sessions work! Thanks for the help Freddy!

  6. #6
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which bundle are you using? BTW what web server are you using? That is wrong it should be reading from the one in the c:\windows folder, if apapche which php.exe are you mapping to?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  7. #7
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using the brand new one from http://www.firepages.com.au

    I am using Apache

    I believe it is mapping to the php.exe in the php folder.

  8. #8
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just out of curiosity when you run phpinfo();

    What does it say for

    Configuration File
    (php.ini) Path

    The fifth one down?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  9. #9
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it just says php.ini

  10. #10
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That sure is weird because as far as my experience goes it always reads the ini file form the windows directory. That's why I don't use those bundles!
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  11. #11
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ya, I am trying to get away from it.... But I can't get Apache to run by itself!!! and I want PHP in a module not as CGI!!!

  12. #12
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe this will get you going.

    http://shanx.com/php/install_win32.txt
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  13. #13
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That sure is weird because as far as my experience goes it always reads the ini file form the windows directory. That's why I don't use those bundles.
    LOL - you hardly need to Freddy , nor does Hartmann anymore , but when hartmann and many others began it was probably a great help!, the idea of the firepages bundle is to get people started, configuring Apache/PHP/MySQL whilst not that hard in hindsight, is quite a task when you first try something like that.

    The difference between the firepages and other bundles is that in 90%+ of cases as soon as you unzip the package you are off! Apache/PHP/MySQL are working , nothing to configure , and now you feel safe to start playing with httpd.conf php.ini etc, and more importantly PHP itself.

    And the php.ini is just as happy in /PHP/ as in C:/windows or C:/ - in fact it causes less problems that way. Remember that this is not a commercial package - just one for home/dev use.

    Hartmann - you need to manually create a folder for the temp file for session data, on windows it is not created if it does not exist.
    If you want to try as a module - download from
    http://www.php4win.de and follow the instructions from freddys link.

  14. #14
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    firepages, sorry if it seemed like I was knocking on your bundle, I used a bundle the first time I installed as well, because it was kicking my butt trying to get it going without it. Now however I have apache running as a service on my win2k systme with php running as a server module. Thanks for the info on the ini file, see I told you I learn something new everyday!
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  15. #15
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did not think for 1 minute you were knocking it Freddy !

    and you are basically right, when you have an idea what you are doing - its much better to install and configure PHP etc yourself. I was just presenting the case for Firepages

  16. #16
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well if you could solve this problem, it would be greatly appreciated
    http://www.sitepointforum.com/showth...threadid=14908


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •