User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A few questions...

Hello,

I am quite new to PHP, and I have just started building a website based on a n-tiered architecture.

I have a few questions:
    i) Is there any way in PHP to detect calls to undefined symbols (ie object methods) ? I have set error reporting to its maximum level, and yet I get no errors when I call an undefined method. For instance, if I define a method M in class C, and then in class CC I call M() without specifying the 'C->', there are absolutely no warnings at runtime. I find this quite annoying, especially when debugging. I come from the C+/#/J2EE world, and these kinds of errors are handled by the syntactical/lexical analyzers.
    ii) Related to i), is there any way to get rid of the $ which preceds all variable names ? I mean is there any advanced PHP compiler which would allow me to use variable var instead of $var ? I know this is very subjective, but I do not think it (the $ sign) helps building readable code.
    iii) I am trying to use PEAR components, mostly DB and DataObject for the data layer. The problem I have: let us say I have defined a database table mytable with several fields named field1, field2, field3 and field4. Then I have defined a DataObject_Mytable. I use the methods setField1(), setField2() and so on. My question is: is there a way to call these methods using a mechanism similar to reflection in java ?

For instance:
    for ( $index = 0; $index < num_fields; $index++ )
    {
    $method_name = 'setField'.$index;
    // Code to call method $method_name on related DataObject
    }

In java, this is very easy, but i will not work with PEAR:: DataObject and the _call() function used for automatic getters and setters. I tried the call_user_func, but it does not work because (it seems) the get/set* methods are built are runtime.