SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Setting up PHP on my PC. What all do I need?

    I asked this question in another thread, but I didn't get an answer.

    http://www.php.net/downloads.php

    If I use the download at this site, will I have everything that I need on my pc to work with PHP?

    Obviously I am a newbie. If this is not what I need please point me in the right direction.

    Please help.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast duffman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi s_spice113,

    Goto: http://www.sitepoint.com/books/phpmysql1/

    Download the sample chapters, you will find what you need in there.

    duffman
    Duffman: Hey Duff lovers! Does anyone in this bar loooove Duff?
    Carl: Hey, it's Duffman!
    Lenny: Newsweek said you died of liver failure.
    Duffman: Duffman can never die, only the actors who play him. Ooh yeah!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard Lats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by s_spice113
    If I use the download at this site, will I have everything that I need on my pc to work with PHP?
    Yes, that's all you need.
    Lats...

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by duffman
    Hi s_spice113,

    Goto: http://www.sitepoint.com/books/phpmysql1/

    Download the sample chapters, you will find what you need in there.

    duffman
    Thanks for this suggestion. I was doing well until it came to adding a new HOME DIRECTORY>APPLICATION CONFIGURATION, while doing the php installation. I am able to browse and find it, but the OK button is not an option. Has anyone come across this before? What do I have to do? Is there a step that I missed?

    Please help

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot DarkWulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use one of the apache/mysql/php installers. Try googling foxserv.

    They may be a bit easier to setup than doing it yourself...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast johnoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    here
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If nothing goes wrong, how will you know everything is in OK shape? Hmmm?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PhpDev5

    I use Phpdev5 only because I'm a noob. It's a compilation of PHP/Mysql/Apache and self installs. Works very well for what I use it for such as testing vbulletin, etc. Wish I had the link right now.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard Lats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TexasOutdoors
    Wish I had the link right now.
    Right here...
    Lats...

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the link. I am definitely a noobie at this too. So this should be just what I need.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •