SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey,

    I'm working on something and it uses some absolute positioning using CSS. It's an image that is displayed in th left corner at the top. In IE5.5 & in NS4.7 & NS6 it works perfectly. Now, Now, in Opera it is displayed at the top, but not at the left. So it's like it doesn't understand the y-value. Does Opera have support for absolute positioning?

    Also a dHTML effect doesn't work, but that's not that important....

    Code:
    <SPAN style="position: absolute; left: 5; top: 5">
      <A href="#" onClick="window.open('help.php?', 'newWnd', 'width=500,heigth=600,status=no,toolbar=yes,resizable=no')">
      <IMG src="help.jpg" border="0"  width="23" height="28"></A>
    </SPAN>

  2. #2
    Gong!
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tested that code (made even my own help image ) and it worked just fine both in Opera and IE 5.5.

    Perhaps you could give example url to describe the problem a bit more?

  3. #3
    Bored One boredboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try adding "px" to the back of your values
    eg. position: absolute; left: 5px; top: 5px;

    also, maybe you should use <div> instead of <span>
    i'm not sure if you could absolutely position a <span>

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by boredboi
    try adding &quot;px&quot; to the back of your values
    eg. position: absolute; left: 5px; top: 5px;

    also, maybe you should use &lt;div&gt; instead of &lt;span&gt;
    i'm not sure if you could absolutely position a &lt;span&gt;
    tried both, none worked...

    If I try in Opera 5 it doesn't work.. Is this another feature you have to enable?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't give out the url yet...

    Maybe Opera has trouble with the DIV used for the dHTML script. I could try moving it in the HTML a bit...

    Thanks for the time so far!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    fixed

    thanks!

  7. #7
    Bored One boredboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do you mind if you could tell us how you fixed it?
    coz it might prove helpful sometime in the future...
    thanks.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was quite simple, yet so DUMB.

    I just moved up the <span> by two <p> and everything was okay. This is another proof Opera is NOT W3C complaint.

  9. #9
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL..
    sounds just like Netspae 4..
    when you move elements up and down...it works
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •