SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Install two versions PHP

    Are there any recomendations how to install wo versions PHP
    and MySQL?
    What steps should be done? Any links?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you on windows or linux, and are you using a module or cgi-mode?

    In general you just want two separate installations of apache, one running on a different port, and then you just setup the two installations to use their own mysql and php versions.
    ck :: bringing chris to the masses.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot hpnadig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Anarchos
    Are you on windows or linux, and are you using a module or cgi-mode?

    In general you just want two separate installations of apache, one running on a different port, and then you just setup the two installations to use their own mysql and php versions.
    wow! that sounds great! can we have some links pointing to docs for doing that?

    thanks!
    Home Page| Blog | Gallery
    sys op & contributor @ kn wikipedia

    Still stuck with a stinky browser? Go get FireFox

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Er, you can have it on the same port if you run at different times.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Easy to do with IIS, and with apache. Just give the PHP exeutables different extensions (eg .PHP4, .PHP5).

    WWB

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am on windows. as module
    How about php.ini?
    How about other files in system dir?

    Not clear.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot hpnadig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hit upon this link:

    http://www.faqts.com/knowledge_base/...d/15590/fid/51

    I suppose we can do that by running one as module and the other as CGI...

    but Im not sure about it..

    any more links on this?
    Home Page| Blog | Gallery
    sys op & contributor @ kn wikipedia

    Still stuck with a stinky browser? Go get FireFox

  8. #8
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IIRC, that is what I did in the one situation I needed to do it. It was also running PHP3 and PHP4 side-by-side which had different files. Have not tried multiple PHP4 installs, though it could well be possible.

    WWB


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •