SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I set up the NuSpehere package for Windows, which includes mySQL, PHP, Apache etc...
    I am wondering what the user/pass when connecting to mySQL using PHP?

    Anyone?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  2. #2
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There probably isn't one, have you tried just typing in mysql at the command prompt?

    C:\mysql\bin> mysql

    or

    C:\mysql\bin> mysql -u root
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    oh...I can get in, that's not a problem. I need to know what the password is for my PHP scripts. What do I use for username and password in them if there is no password? Isn't there a default or something?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    $dbh = mysql_connect("localhost, "root", "");

    As far as I remember, that will work if the root user doesn't have a password. Highly insecure, but fine on a non-accessible IP address.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes there is no password.

    I have a further question on this, is there any way to test email sending using this setup? obviously there is no sendmail so is there any way to do it? i am also using the nusphere installation.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Absolutely. Check out the php.net mail() function ref page at http://php.net/manual/function.mail.php .

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry i forgot to say, this is being tested on win98. at the moment to test mail functions i am having to connect to my unix box which takes too long. i couldn't find anything on that page about getting mail to work on win98. any ideas?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need a mail server on your PC, take a look at Tucows.com as there are some free one's available then in your PHP.ini you need to set the SMTP server address to 127.0.0.1 (localhost would never work for me) and hopefully it should all work.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Karl, i didn't realised you could do that - really helpful. (i got to try out karma giving ). Thanks.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot Podge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have MySql installed on Windows 2000, in the directory
    c:\whatever\mysql\bin is a file called winmysqladmin.exe.

    Open it and it will reside in the taskbar. Right click on the icon in the taskbar and select "show me".

    In the program that opens, you can find out all the info your need about MySql on your machine. The root username and password should be listed under the "my.ini Setup" tab.

    Hope this helps.
    Padraic Lavin

    Advertising Free Message Boards $5/mo
    Instant Setup. ForumCo.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •