SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Setting up and accessing PHPDEV423 on another computer

    Hi Chappies

    I've setup phpdev423 on one of the networked machines at work
    Now I want to be able to access the local host directory (as a webpage) from my own computer which is also on the network.

    However, I cant get this to work.

    Is this possible?

    I can view the localhost directory as it looks through windows explorer, - but not as a webpage.

    When in internet explorer I type \\computerName\localhost
    it asks me for a password, and I have no idea what that could be as I havent set any passwords on that machine

    Any ideas, suggestions?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Should I instead maybe setup phpdev on my own computer and just use a shared directory on the networked machine for storing all files and point to that directory as my localhost?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot rae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    bedroom :P
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BuzzFuttock
    When in internet explorer I type \\computerName\localhost
    it asks me for a password, and I have no idea what that could be as I havent set any passwords on that machine
    Type this:
    http://localhost

    Asking for the password is maybe because on your network there are different permissions. But if you could installed it on that machine, that it shouldn't ask for password.

    And if you have an opened windows explorer folder after typing the above "url", then you need to modify your webserver's settings.

    Edit: and also you can just type:
    localhost
    without the http://
    or if everything is good, then you can type:
    127.0.0.1
    as the basic localhost IP. On windows machines, that IP is mapped to the "expression": localhost
    d(o.O)b -- Notice: undefined variable: /me

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the reply

    localhost works fine on the machine where I installed phpdev,

    However when i try to access the www directory from another machine i can only see it in windows explorer mode.

    So is it possible to view localhost from another networked machine?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot rae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    bedroom :P
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, type your webserver machine's IP in the other machine's browser. (Not 127.0.0.1)

    127.0.0.1 will only work on the webserver machine.
    d(o.O)b -- Notice: undefined variable: /me

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BuzzFuttock
    So is it possible to view localhost from another networked machine?
    As rae said, you need to be accessing the server's network IP. Localhost is just an alias for the loopback address 127.0.0.1, which refers to the current machine.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    by typing just the IP address of the networked machine,
    isnt that just the same as typing its computer name in the addrses box?

    e.g. \\computerName

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot rae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    bedroom :P
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BuzzFuttock
    by typing just the IP address of the networked machine,
    isnt that just the same as typing its computer name in the addrses box?

    e.g. \\computerName
    IMHO no, because the webserver's document root is not "My Computer" as default. I think you can set the Apache server to listen to that name too, but I'm not sure. I always use IP addresses. Hm... and also you can use/create Virtual hosts with Apache. That's a directive. With virtualhosts you can reach your folders, as www.project_test.loc ... or www.my_site.net etc...
    There are Name based and IP based virtualhosts.
    Search in the Apache docs, if you find that interesting.

    Cheers!
    d(o.O)b -- Notice: undefined variable: /me

  9. #9
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi , on the computer with phpdev installed ,
    open a command prompt (dos window) and type 'ipconfig'
    look in the results for an IP address that looks like 192.168.*.* (there are other possibles but thats most likely result)

    thats the computers address on the network,

    then type in (eg) http://192.168.0.52/public/

    and hopefully you should see something,


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •