SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: LILO Problem

  1. #1
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I am trying to install Linux together with Win98, and now it only loads LILO from the floppy (if I don't use the floppy, the PC boots directly into Win98)
    I have the active partition is the Win98, and in the extended partition, I put 3 partitions (all logical) for Linux (RH7.0): boot, root and swap.

    Do you know why LILO doesn't boot from the HDD?
    Thanks in advance,
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  2. #2
    We are vigilant icehousedesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Io
    Posts
    299
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I installed Mandrake Linux on my machine, I had the options of placing the loader on the MBR...

  3. #3
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, and I did choose to place it on the MBR.
    Could there be anything to do with BootMagic from PartitionMagic?
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  4. #4
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Obviously, LILO isn't installed in the MBR. If you've installed LILO somewhere on the Linux partition, however, you could install a third-party bootmanager which would see both Win98 and Linux.

    I recommend those two bootmanagers: XOSL and OSL2000, which is available at http://www.download.com
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  5. #5
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried XOSL, very nice interface, but it doesn't work.
    The same situation happens like BootMagic:
    - When choosing to boot from the partition I chose for /boot, it just stays blank! Can't do anything.
    - But if I put the floppy, it boots the LILO!

    I'm quite desperated testing/reinstalling Linux in dual mode! Help, please!
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  6. #6
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try installing LILO in /boot, then the bootmanager should be able to see LILO.

    I assume that you can choose with Mandrake in which directories you can install LILO? I know of SuSe 6.3 (which I'm using now) and up, that you get only about three places to choose from where you can install LILO. If the same counts for Mandrake, can you list those locations here?
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  7. #7
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the help,

    I'm trying to install RedHat 7.0

    When it aksed for LILO installation, I think RH only showed the /boot partition (that I put out only for that purpose - 14MB) and the DOS partition (which I don't think I should put LILO on)

    Then I also choose to install on the first sector of boot partition (which is the partition I created for /boot)

    I think with Boot Managers, it only tries to boot from the partition you specify and doesn't really know that the partition contains any OS. That's what I thought.

    These are the partitions I have for the drive:
    Code:
    FAT32 - Primary - 7600 (which currently has Win98)
    Extended LBA - Primary - 5400
    FAT32 - Logical - 3400 (for storing files)
    Linux Native - Logical - 14 (mounted as /boot)
    Linux Native - Logical - 1770 (as /)
    Linux Swap - Logical - 206
    Thank you.
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  8. #8
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a note when I finished my x times installing RH again, it said the partition (more exact: cylinder) is too large, try to use "lba" instead. Or sthing like that, I don't remember exactly, but could it be the problem!?
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  9. #9
    Gong!
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try to install LILO to the real partition you've booted your Windows and such from.

    I've did that and after that it used to show LILO: -prompt in order to select the OS when starting the machine up.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's definitely a good thing to enable LBA. This makes it so LILO can be recognized even if it is not on the first tiny tiny bit of your hard drive. You need a recent BIOS to do this, however. It may be that LILO for you is bigger than the first 1024 cylinders, which would cause it not to work if LBA is disabled...

    If I were you, I'd get the latest release of LILO. Install it on the MBR and add entries for Linux, Windows, etc (whatever else you use) and do away with BootMagic. Make your /etc/lilo.conf config file and then run /sbin/lilo to update it. You can even password protect it like I do to mine. Here's what it looks like if you're trying to boot to Linux...

    $*%*$$$$$$$$#
    boot: l
    Password:
    Loading l...........

    Looks very secretive and cool. Anyone who tries to get on thinks they screwed up the computer and they slowly walk away

    If you're intent on continuing to use BootMagic you'll need to do a bit of hacking around with it.


  11. #11
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I was almost given up with dualboot, magic happened!
    I now can see the boot manager of RH, I have no idea how or what I did to get it working!
    I installed it on another HDD with fresh Win98 then problems're gone!

    Thanks for all help.

    edit: anyone knows how to add more OSes into LILO?
    I believe I have to edit lilo.conf, but how?

    Thanks again
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/mini/Multiboot-with-LILO.html

    That's an excellent place for information on configuring LILO.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •