SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 23 of 23

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey guys,
    I need ur help.
    http://www.automotiveforums.com/ineedhelp.html

    just compare the page in Netscape and IE and you'll understand my problem [hopefully ]

    It's a Table and Background image thing......

    Thanx for any help!
    <Edited by igor@af on 01-06-2001 at 03:42 PM>

  2. #2
    Say WHA?! goober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,

    While i am certainly not a fan of Netscape, you just angered hundreds of forum visitors. the LAST thing that you want to do is that, especially if you need help with a Netscape issue. We don't need a "Flaming Forum".

    I will check out the site and see what I can do.
    Sean Killeen [LinkedIn] [Twitter] [Web]

    Warning: Reality.sys corrupted. Universe halted. Reboot? (Y/N)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    any news?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problem solved!!!!
    The thing is, don't use [ background="" ] thing for Table, use it for TD's.
    For some reason Nestcape messes it all up if you try to put it under Table.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have Netscape installed on my computer, but I ran a validation tool on your code. It produced three errors:

    Line 27 (around where it says "Blah"): You have </a> with no <a href...>. That is probably not the cause of the problem, but you never know.

    Line 27 (same line): You have </span> without a start tag. That could be the problem.

    The validator is also looking for a closing </a>. I don't see any opening <a> tags besides the <a name="top>, so I am not so sure about that. Maybe you should get rid of <a name="top"> unless you have the link for it.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanx for trying to help.
    But that wasn't it
    It's just that NS doesn't understand the difference between the background of the table and the background of each cell. It thinks it's the same thing.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Damn Netscape 6.0. I just redid my entire site to make it look as good as possible in 4.7. Whihc excpet for the CSS it does. I think open 6.0 for the hell of it and my page is stretched about 2 screen lengths with alot of big empty spaces . Guess I have to redo it again.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you know what we should all do??
    We should not worry how the sites looks in NS6.
    Then maybe the guys that did it will realize something:
    NS6 sucks. They have to support as much as IE5.5 does, i'd recommend to support even more, or how else are they gonna get in front??
    I mean, why do we all bother to adjust to NS6? NS6 should adjust to us.

  9. #9
    Say WHA?! goober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Igor,

    If i do say so, that's my 'brilliant statement of the day'. WE'RE the people who they market to. Let THEM support US. The majority of the population uses 4.x anyways, so let's design for the masses.

    "..And we encourage the people to rise up and RESIST!"
    Sean Killeen [LinkedIn] [Twitter] [Web]

    Warning: Reality.sys corrupted. Universe halted. Reboot? (Y/N)

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hehe

  11. #11
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's a mistake to just not design for a browser because you personally don't like it. Sure, more users use Netscape 4x than 6, but that's because 6 was just released. I also recommend you check your site in Opera, because if it works in that, it will probably work in any browser.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Swindon, UK
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did NS go from 4.7 to 6 just be "one up" on IE? Or is there a version 5 that I missed?

    We have the perfect set-up - I don't like NS, my husband doesn't like IE. He has NS on his PC, I have IE on mine - when we need to check our web sites etc we just swap PC's, and save the disk space.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by M. James
    It's a mistake to just not design for a browser because you personally don't like it. Sure, more users use Netscape 4x than 6, but that's because 6 was just released. I also recommend you check your site in Opera, because if it works in that, it will probably work in any browser.
    Yes, it is a mistake to not design for a browser because you personally don't like it. But did you know that NS6 supports a lot less than NS 4.7 ?????
    I would wonder what they are thinking over at Netscape- looks like they don't want us to move forward with HTML, just go a lil back, so that the page dislays correctly on the stupid[oops....] NS6.

  14. #14
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by dreuby
    Did NS go from 4.7 to 6 just be &quot;one up&quot; on IE? Or is there a version 5 that I missed?

    We have the perfect set-up - I don't like NS, my husband doesn't like IE. He has NS on his PC, I have IE on mine - when we need to check our web sites etc we just swap PC's, and save the disk space.
    This was a deliberate part marketing/part catch-up ploy by Netscape, who realised that by dallying for so long with Mozilla/Netscape 6, they were fast losing competition to IE. So they decided to do away with Netscape '5' and jumped straight to 6.
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Swindon, UK
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I remember MS doing that with Word to catch up with Word Perfect. I can't help feeling a bit insulted by this ploy - either they think we can't count, or that we really beleive that having the same version number makes two different products as good as each other.

    Marketing experts please tell me - do we really fall for this?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Port Jervis, NY, US
    Posts
    163
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape 6 supports less than 4.x???

    In what ways? I have honestly never heard that. I am not a fan of Netscape, but hoped there was a light at the end of the catacomb.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape6 doesnt support ANY layers at all to start with..
    then, it also doesn't support a big chunk of other javascript as well. I think HTML got a lil better. But it still loses to IE on all accounts.

  18. #18
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Layers were officially deprecated after Netscape 4.xx. Netscape recognised that W3C wasn't going to recognise it (in favor of IE's DOM) so they dropped it when developing for Netscape 6.
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Switzerland (it's like....Europe)
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whilst I am no big fan of Billy, and I do believe MSFT did try to bully itself on NS in the browser war, I personally think that NS is lagging way behind in this contest. I did try to install NS6 and I was insulted by the amount of time it takes to load & startup ( I didn't even manage to get it running!!!).
    I mean, everyone knows that bloatware ain't the way to go...
    I just wish that NS would implement such "simple" things such as watermark images, a better font set, etc.
    My 2 (swiss franc) cents' worth...
    Peace
    JJ
    Banker, Musician , Sound engineer and Wannabe hack...

  20. #20
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, if you hate IE and Netscape is a frigging pain, then use what I use :

    http://www.mozilla.org (download Mozilla 0.7)

    It's not as bloated as Netscape 6 and renders pages pretty well. Still not fully standards-compliant but getting close.
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  21. #21
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Switzerland (it's like....Europe)
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Y U M M Y...


    JJ
    Banker, Musician , Sound engineer and Wannabe hack...

  22. #22
    SitePoint Enthusiast Vman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recently downloaded Opera (only 2MB!) and have found it very handy at highlighting any problems in a site.

    Plus it has a 'Validate HTML' option in its right click menu.

    Now if Netscape could get back to basics like these guys then life would be SOOOO much better.

  23. #23
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    forget netscape redirect the user to a 404 page like i do
    http://www.nemexis.com/404.htm

    32 months to update to netscape 6.0 they just skipped 5.0 cause it was crap and they new it.

    .:nemexis.com
    .:nemexis.com - net resource center ~
    http://www.nemexis.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •